Malata DVP520 questions (for owners of N996 too)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeff Ulmer, May 31, 2002.

  1. Jeff Ulmer

    Jeff Ulmer Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 1998
    Messages:
    5,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My DVP520 (successor to the N996) just arrived from Next Big Thing Electronics , and setting it up was nowhere as convoluted as I had been led to believe the N996 was. The menus were in English, and arranged logically. This player has the upgrade switch on the back, and is apparently a N996 in a slimmer case.
    I do have a couple of questions that those with the N996 may be able to answer.
    I have a Toshiba 16x9 progressive set, so I have set the video mode to Y Cb Cr, the only one that works. The TV setup is set to 16x9, but this is squishing all the 4:3 material. With my 5109, I have my TV set in standard mode for 4:3, Theatrewide for nonanamorphic widescreen, and full for anamorphic material. It looks like I have to stay in full mode all the time with this player.
    Also, I can't set the video type to progressive - I don't get any output.
    I doubt many people have this player yet, since the first shipment only came in a couple of days ago, and it was here within 2 days from NBT.
    The advanced features have their own remote button, but I haven't quite figured out how that all works yet, though it seems pretty straight forward. The info button gives both audio and video bit rates in bps, along with the type of source material, and time info.
    So far it seems pretty good.
    Any ideas on the progressive and 16x9 issues?
     
  2. Todd Schnell

    Todd Schnell Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jeff,

    Do a search here on Malata & you will find a much info.

    I have the 996.

     
  3. Jeff Ulmer

    Jeff Ulmer Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 1998
    Messages:
    5,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The subtitle button will switch between progressive and interlaced if held down for 5 seconds on this one, but so far I can't get it to do progressive. The remote is pretty cheap, and you can't power the unit off from the remote.
     
  4. Kevin Coleman

    Kevin Coleman Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jeff,
    Does this player do DVD-Audio?
    I saw on a website it had a DVD Audio logo.
    Also does yours have a VGA port on the back?
    Kevin C. [​IMG]
     
  5. Jeff Ulmer

    Jeff Ulmer Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 1998
    Messages:
    5,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If it does DVD-A, it doesn't indicate it anywhere, and no, there is no VGA port.
    Those wondering whether the heat issue that the first N996s had would be aggravated by the slimmer case design needn't worry - I ran this for hours with the unit not even getting warm.
    There does not appear to be an "expert" menu - all functions are on the basic user menu, or the "features" menu including the zoom, pan, color calibration, and X/Y scaling.
    There are only 4 video types: Movie, Still, Auto and Camera
    There is no power button on the remote, and the unit does not shut itself off automatically as far as I can see. You have to pick you butt up off the couch and manually turn it on or off.
    Since the player is in 16x9 mode at all times, it generates black bars on the side of 4:3 images, but I haven't been able to get these as black as the ones generated by my 5109. I am using the same TV inputs as the other player at this time, so I haven't recalibrated my set.
    The unit indicates it is R1 on the back panel. It isn't. [​IMG]
    I called NBT about the progressive issue, and their display model works, so we are awaiting contact with Malata on Monday to see if there is a trick to this or if my unit as to go back.
     
  6. Darren H

    Darren H Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 10, 2000
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are any American dealers shipping the 520 yet?
     
  7. JohnnyG

    JohnnyG Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Regarding DVD-Audio support, this spec sheet (http://www.national.com/appinfo/dvd/...DV86xx_DVD.pdf) on the Mediamatics NDV8601 says it supports it, but only discs that are not 'CCPM' (I think this is some sort of content encryption?). It would not play the Blue Man Group DVD-A disc (the only DVD-A disc I have right now).
     
  8. MarcW

    MarcW Agent

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm still waiting for my 520 but should have it sometime next week. I hate waiting [​IMG]
    Is there a FAQ for the N996 floating around somewhere ? I want to try all the features of the 520 when it comes in but I'm not sure where to start.
    -MarcW
     
  9. Jeff Ulmer

    Jeff Ulmer Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 1998
    Messages:
    5,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The 520 is far simpler than the 996 sounded. There are only 2 menus, both with access from the remote. The manual almost makes sense, but does cover pretty much all you need.
     
  10. Jeff Adkins

    Jeff Adkins Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 1998
    Messages:
    1,775
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Real Name:
    Jeff Adkins
    Has anyone checked out the subtitling problem that exists on The Phantom Menace when played on the 996? I wonder if this is fixed on the 520?
    Jeff
     
  11. Jeff Ulmer

    Jeff Ulmer Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 1998
    Messages:
    5,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There a a few things that need fixing on this model so far. The progressive problem I'm having is a known issue that will be upgraded shortly (I like the idea of downloadable firmware upgrades - beat losing the machine for a week to the service depot).

    Another annoyance is that the features settings are reset every time you turn off the machine. My player is much too bright compared to my Toshiba (which shares the same inputs), so I have to readjust its settings every time I turn it on. It would have been nice if this were saved in PRAM.

    Not having a power button on the remote is a pain - I can eject the disc remotely, but not turn the power on...When powering down the unit, it is not smart enough to close its door first.

    The "info" display doesn't show the total running time remaining like my other players, only chapter time.

    The player generated side bars (for 4:3 material) are too bright, and don't seem to be affected by the players video adjustments. Not as bad as the stock grey bars generated by the TV, but distracting after getting used to the 5109's black side bars.

    However, the zoom function works quite well - it was great to zoom in on a nonanamorphic 1.66:1 disc and get it properly framed with side bars and minimal overscan. Far better than cropping to 1.78.
     
  12. MarcW

    MarcW Agent

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Due to some screw-up with the Canadian Post and their software that generates shipping labels I'm still waiting for mine [​IMG]
    Hopefully the firmware update will be available by the time I'll get the player. It's pretty much useless to me if the progresive-scan doesn't work.
    -MarcW
     
  13. Jeff Ulmer

    Jeff Ulmer Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 1998
    Messages:
    5,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would mention that the service so far from NBT (that's JohnnyG above)has been very good. They emailed right away with news of the fixes being worked on. I hope this is fixed soon as well, as I have a number of Region 3 discs in transit which are in need of reviewing ASAP.
     

Share This Page