What's new

looking for an HDTV but have some questions (1 Viewer)

Keith_R

Screenwriter
Real Name
Kyle
Hey all,I may be in the market for a new HDTV. I plan on looking at buying an HDTV tommorow but I'm a newbie to the HD stuff and I have a few questions pertaining to the whole HD thing and what I should be looking for in my search for an HD set.

1. What connections should I be looking to have on this set? I plan on hooking up a DVD player and a TiVo to it so I'm planning on getting at least S-Video and component video. However, I've heard a lot of people talking about these new connections like HDCP and HDMI, and DVI. What is the difference between these and the other standard connects? is it recommended I try to get these new connects on my set?

2. I plan on using this to watch both DVDs and Tv. However, I'm more of a Tv watcher. I know most sets nowadays are 16:9 but for my needs and wants 16:9 may not be practical nor feasable (due to space restrictions). Is there such as a thing as a 4:3 HDTV set that can do a 16:9 mode for when you want to watch a WS show or a DVD? would should a thing make my WS DVD's function like it were a true WS set complete with anamorphic enhancement?

3.There are so many different HD formats it seems (480P,720P,1080i), what HD formats should I look for in my new Tv to allow me to watch hi def programming in my area and enjoy progressive scan DVDs?

4. It seems the technology is always changing and the HD standards are still kind of in a disorganized state, is it wise to purchase a new HDTV now or should I hold off for a little bit longer to give the industry time to get more organized and the technology more time to stabalize? what are you HD converts opinions on this?