Logitech introduces HARMONY ELITE remote. The Most Powerful Harmony Remote Yet

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by Ronald Epstein, Sep 16, 2015.

  1. Hank_P

    Hank_P Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2000
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Which commands? And have you "Linked" both of the Harmony Apps to the Echo?
     
  2. DavidJ

    DavidJ Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    3,479
    Likes Received:
    414
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    David
    Yes, I installed both apps and linked them. I may look at it again. One of the things I've found a bit frustrating with Alexa is how precise you have to be with word order and your phrases---they still have a ways to go to catch up to Siri and Google in that regard. Maybe I just haven't asked the exact right way yet. I still am using IFTTT triggers to turn the system on and off. That works well.
     
  3. Hank_P

    Hank_P Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2000
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    110
    I agree with having to be very specific in what you are asking Alexa to do. I know you have seen this page, but it lays out how to ask Alexa how to do it. https://support.myharmony.com/en-us/harmony-experience-with-amazon-alexa

    "Alexa, tell Harmony to ...." is the trigger word.
     
  4. DavidJ

    DavidJ Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    3,479
    Likes Received:
    414
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    David
    I thought that was what I was doing, but I'm obviously doing something wrong. I'll give it another try when I get a chance.
     
  5. George_W_K

    George_W_K Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Location:
    Ohio
    Real Name:
    George
    Did you watch my video in Post 82 of this thread? Just wondering if you phrase like I do.
     
  6. DavidJ

    DavidJ Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    3,479
    Likes Received:
    414
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    David
    I don't remember. I'll have to go back and look at it.

    I'm beginning to think I'm going to have to disable the skills and try to enable and connect them again.
     
  7. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    18,449
    Likes Received:
    1,700
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    Are there any rumors of new Harmony remotes coming out? I'm thinking of replacing my One in the living room and wonder if now's the time to buy?
     
  8. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    48,673
    Likes Received:
    5,675
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Not yet. However, the Harmony seems to be the heart of Logitech's business model so I am merely guessing that *something* will be forthcoming.

    I don't know how much better these remotes can get. Their ELITE is the best of the best. The only thing I can see them incorporating into their remotes that would make it even better is voice commands.

    It sucks that you are in a waiting game hoping for something that may or may never arrive.
     
  9. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    18,449
    Likes Received:
    1,700
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    I'm waiting more for $400 to appear with no purpose but to be spent on a new remote...not so much waiting for a new model :)

    In the meantime, On my wishlist of features I'd like to are:
    • Better control of the cats-and-dogs remotes: AppleTV, PS4, and so on.
    • Better programming software.
    • IR blaster features (this is exists, but you have to take a chance of a third party solution)
    • Step up to custom-installer level features including wifi and Ethernet control, actual hardware state, and so on. (I want to replace a URC remote.)

    I haven't used the last two versions with the touchscreen. So I'm always hopIng for best of breed and improved design to control everything as if it were built specifically for that purpose.
     
  10. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    48,673
    Likes Received:
    5,675
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein

    David,

    I wanted to follow-up on your ventures with Harmony and Alexa.

    I have gone a bit crazy automating everything in my home lately with my Amazon Echo Show

    I am thinking of buying the Logitech Hub ($90) to add to a second display. I don't yet want to mess with the one I have hooked up to my projector, though it would be smart to test it on that first.

    My question is....

    How well is the hub working with Alexa? Is it effectively turning on and off your display? Can you tell it to turn to a certain channel or even by channel name (such as "Alexa turn on CNN")?

    There are a lot of mixed reviews as to how well the hub works with Alexa. I am also reading you have to download both skills that are available in Alexa for it to work properly.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  11. George_W_K

    George_W_K Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Location:
    Ohio
    Real Name:
    George
    Those using Alexa to do anything with your Harmony, you should no longer have to say, "tell Harmony to..." when giving a command.
     
  12. Race Bannon

    Race Bannon Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    358
    Trophy Points:
    610
    Real Name:
    Jay
    I got an Echo just in time for this improvement. Looks like "Turn on . . . " is the preface for all my home theater related commands.
     
  13. Race Bannon

    Race Bannon Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    358
    Trophy Points:
    610
    Real Name:
    Jay
    I'd be interested to hear what components are most integrated with the use of Harmony and Alexa together for home theater. Right now, all my "boxes" can be turned on or selected by Alexa (because Alexa associates well with a Harmony "Activity" and employs the pre-programmed Harmony procedure). But beyond channel, volume, and mute, most other actions require me to pick up the remote.

    Let's choose a simple example -- going straight to Netflix, or Plex. Has anyone yet used Alexa voice to get their entire system going on Netflix or Plex, or some other service?
     

Share This Page