Is 128 bit encryption available for IE6?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JohnMM, Aug 1, 2002.

  1. JohnMM

    JohnMM Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In Internet Explorer 6, when I press "help-about internet explorer" it shows only 56 bit cypher strength.

    Is 128 bit encryption available for IE6? I can't find it on MS.com. Or should I drop back to version 5?
     
  2. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just curious, what do you need it for?
     
  3. MikeAlletto

    MikeAlletto Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2000
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine says 128-bit, so I know it exists.

    Banking online and some shopping does not work if you don't have 128.

    The version is listed as 6.0.2600.0000
     
  4. Chris Bardon

    Chris Bardon Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm running IE6, and it's at 128 bits. I'm on XP now, but I had IE6 on 98 running at 128 bit security. Does MS still have that whole hangup about 128 bit encryption not being exported to certain countries? If so, it might not be detecting your location correctly. I'd say if all else fails an email to MS is in order, or at least a post in their newsgroups. They tend to be pretty well moderated.
     
  5. Todd Hochard

    Todd Hochard Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 1999
    Messages:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm at 128bits. I've usually found the patch in the Windows Update area.
     
  6. Brian E

    Brian E Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2000
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. AndyVX

    AndyVX Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I upgraded to IE6, I didn't even have to choose 128bit. It just automatically installed it as that.

    Maybe it does have something to do with it wrongly detecting your location.
     
  8. JohnMM

    JohnMM Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Camp - I need it to be able to pay college tuition online - the site keeps telling me I need 128 bit encryption, which I had with IE5, but lost when IE6 got installed.
     
  9. JohnMM

    JohnMM Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Brian E - the link you gave me was perfect - fixed the problem and I'm back in business. Thanks.

    And thanks to all for the help and info.
     
  10. Andre F

    Andre F Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got it automatically with Windows XP.
    -Andre F
     
  11. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have you folks noticed any funky "side effects" after installing ie6?

    my windows explorer seems to be acting bizarre. when i create a new folder it doesn't automatically highlight the folder so i can change the name. i believe that started happening after i upgraded ie.
     
  12. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ted, I had a similar problem after going to IE6 on W2K. The left pane of an Explorer window wouldn't update properly. I also got a 'lag' when the Explorer window was first opened.

    In the end I gave up and went back to 5.01 SP2 which is still the best version IMO.
     

Share This Page