What's new

Improper install? (1 Viewer)

Shade Watson

Stunt Coordinator
On Sunday Sep 9 I had my Direct Tivo and Multidish professionally installed. I was very busy, and not watching him closely. He seemed to have some trouble, but everything seemed to be working when he left.
I think he did not know what he was doing. He seemed to be confused by the Multidish's built in multiswitch when he first started, and now I can not tune in some channels like the NASA channel. Is it possible that he only has the dish pointing at one of the satellites? In my area, Houston, I believe the local channels are on the main satellite. So most people in my area only have the round dish. I think the whole "Multidish Concept" was over his head.
Anyway, I am new to Satellite TV, so maybe it is me who is confused.
Also, Isn't there some sort of code requiring that the Satellite feeds be grounded? He sent the leads straight down my outside wall and directly into my connector jacks inside my house. Is this right? I live in unincorporated Harris County, boardering Houston.
I don't currently have HDTV. Do I even need to be able to "see" more than one satellite? How would I check this?
Thanks

Glenn Overholt

Senior HTF Member
Yeah, there should be a grounding post just outside of your house. One line would be for the sat to the post, and a new one from the post to inside of your house.
If the post isn't there, and you want to have a little fun, call your insurance company up and tell them what they did. I think that will back it up pretty quick.
Glenn

Shade Watson

Stunt Coordinator
I'm home now, and I have figured out that I am getting zero signal from the 119 satellite on all transponders. I guess this means that the Installer was as much of a moron as I took him to be.
The reason I had it professionally installed is because I wanted someone who knew more than me. Well when he got here and I had to explain to him that the multiswitch is built into the dish, I knew I had wasted my money.