What's new

I need to choose a single ground: Projector or Onkyo TX-SR705? (1 Viewer)

Rancho5

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Alec
My HT will have three circuits: Lights/Recepticles, Projector and then Audio stuff using two runs of 12-3 wire.

So I have a choice on grounds. Two of these will be a shared (common) ground and one grounded by itself.

One of my electrician friends suggested that the projector be on it's own ground so there will be no interference or static if we run the vacuum during the movie, etc. Which chances are zero.

But I do have an Onkyo TX-SR705 (in the box waiting to be installed when ready) and I understand that some Onkyos have a hum problem if they have a common ground.

So which would you choose to have on it's own ground? Projector or receiver?

I'm leaving tomorrow for 3 days for a funeral so I look forward to reading your responses when I return.

Thanks guys!

werty7777

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Martin
I'm just a simple builder with limited electrical knowledge, however all grounds are essentially shared in the panel in the first place. Furthermore "static" generally only affects speakers with powered subs if any at all. So long story short as any electrician I know would tell you is don't share lights with any other components period. But you know that already. What audio stuff are you connecting? Which projector are you installing? Generally speaking receivers have great insulation properties as it pertains to electrical noise and any decent power conditioner would solve the any worries you may have. So with all this rambling I would say leave the projector on it seperate ground because any electrical noise is more noticed visually versus audibly. Hope this helps. Sorry to hear about the funeral and good luck on the install.

Leo Kerr

Screenwriter
In my mind, the lighting isn't always a clear-cut answer.

If the lights are regular incandescent lights that aren't dimmed, then it doesn't matter where they go.