I have a broken 312 and would like to hot rod it maybe?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Rachael B, Aug 29, 2001.

  1. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,695
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    I have a broken 312 that I presume needs a new hard drive. It has no sound and has been troublesome all along. It has had green lines on the pic before, unplugging it solved that. But, now the sound just won't come back. Is the problem likely to be with the drive? How big a drive could I get for it? Thanks for any insight!
    ------------------
    Rachael, the big disc cat! "...Mandrake, have you ever seen a commie drink water..."
    AFI Film Challenge, hey I've only got 1 to go!
     
  2. LDfan

    LDfan Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1998
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this a Tivo or ReplayTV unit?
    Jeff
     
  3. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,695
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    Thanks for the reply Jeff. It's a Tivo 312 (30 hr.). It's got the subscription paid for the lifetime of the unit, but it's broken. I suppose I need a new hard-drive. I'm curious about putting a larger one in it. Currently, the sound is gone, but it has a pic. Any ideas about some options would be appreciated! Best wishes!
    ------------------
    Rachael, the big disc cat! "...Mandrake, have you ever seen a commie drink water..."
    AFI Film Challenge, hey I've only got 1 to go!
     
  4. LDfan

    LDfan Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1998
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi, Well you have a couple of options. You can pop a 60 or 80 gig HD in which will give you 60 or 80 hours respectively (1 hour per gig) or there are several places in which you can send your machine into and get them to upgrade and test it for you.
    Here is one that I know of :
    http://www.digitalrecorder.tv/tivo.htm
    You find tons of info on how to upgrade units, replace HDs etc...
    Good Luck,
    Jeff
     
  5. John Welch

    John Welch Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rachael you need to remember if the hard drive is toast then there is no way to mirror the operating system to a new hard drive, so just replacing it will not work. Like Jeff said, you hang out at AVS, go check the underground at the TIVO forum there. A lot of people and resources to draw on.......
     
  6. Keith Mickunas

    Keith Mickunas Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 1998
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why do you think the drive is bad if the its got video but no sound? Can you still use it? Does it record programs and still pause live TV? If it does any of these, its using the drive. If the sound portion is toast, you'll probably have to send it in for repair, or get a new one.
     
  7. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,695
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    Thanks guys for the advice. I have not been on the Tivo forum at AVS for a long time, over a year. The unit works except for the sound. I've had to unplug it to break it out of various video funks numerous times. It's had the green lines several times. I have an older 112 and it's never so much as hick-up'ed. The 312 has repeatedly misbehaved. I'll try finding some Tivo gurues over there. If I could fix the sound, I'd love to have a bigger hard-drive maybe...? Gracias!
    ------------------
    Rachael, the big disc cat! "...Mandrake, have you ever seen a commie drink water..."
    AFI Film Challenge, hey I've only got 1 to go!
    [Edited last by Rachael B on August 31, 2001 at 02:33 AM]
     

Share This Page