What's new

HT nOOb With Lots of ?'s about LCD TV/Surround Setup (Long Post!) (1 Viewer)

RockyMountainHigh

Auditioning
Real Name
Shaun
Hello all,
Home theater noob here looking for information and advice on setup of my new tv/surround system. Any suggestions and/or advice would be greatly appreciated.

First, a little background. The wife and I have had the same 'ol 27" crt tv for the past 12 years or so. We are both computer geeks, and my wife a bit of an amateur digital photographer/videographer, so we are both somewhat tech savvy and up to speed on the digital world. However, prior to the past few weeks neither of us knew much of anything about the new television technologies and/or HDTV. Recently we came into a lump sum of unexpected money (how often does that happen!?) and decided with the holidays and all it was time to upgrade the TV. After a bit of research (online and talking with sales people in stores), and in considering what we wanted and needed from a TV, we decided on an LCD. We needed something that was light and easy to move, something that provided a great picture in bright areas (our living room is surrounded by windows and skylights, very open and bright), and here's the kicker, something that worked great at high altitude (we live at 8100 feet). We wanted an integrated HD tuner, widescreen format and HDMI connection.