How to get 24bit/96KHz digital output from Audiophile 2496 in Win2K?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Sihan Goi, Jan 19, 2002.

  1. Sihan Goi

    Sihan Goi Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi guys,

    I have Win2K SP2 and the Audiophile 2496 with the latest drivers released Nov, and I can't seem to get 24bit/96KHz digital output to my prepro. I seem to be stuck at 16bit/48KHz, which defeats the purpose of the Audiophile 2496. I tried this wrapper that I was recommended, but that didn't work either. Does anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sihan,

    Does the card itself upsample? I was under the impression it didn't (most 24/96 cards are 24/96 because they support the ability to pass and record that rate and bitdepth-- not because they can create those rates from thin air).

    I am having trouble getting my card to pass digital, at all. But I would assume that if you're getting 16/44.1 from CD- that if you ripped that track to file, used an editor to upsample it to 24/96- that you'd see the card could pass it.

    Again- i might very well be confused, but I was never under the impression that the MAudio card's "whole purpose" was making 24/96 audio out of thin air (rather the main appeal for HTPC, as far as I understand, is bit for bit digital transmission of digital audio like DD and DTS-- which would mean 16/48! The main marketing of the card is that it allows you to record from analog sources at 24/96 as well as pass that bit rate to equipment that supports the rate.)

    -Vince
     
  3. Sihan Goi

    Sihan Goi Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Vince, that's a good observation. However, I'm using the MAD Winamp plugin that has an algorithm for upsampling to either 24 or 32bit. I'm choosing the 24 bit option but I can't get that to work since it gives me an error message about it exceeding my hardware capabilities.
     
  4. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting.

    Well, if you give me a day or two I can post a 10 second 24 bit 96k wav file and you could try to play that. The problem might be in the winamp plugin.

    -Vince
     
  5. Sihan Goi

    Sihan Goi Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That'd be great...I'm too lazy to make a 24/96 wav sample even though I have CoolEdit Pro [​IMG]
     
  6. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My audio PC is currently "on location" being used in a mixing session for a movie. Will post once it is returned home.
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Sihan Goi

    Sihan Goi Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sure thing...let me know when you're ready, you have my address [​IMG]
    thanks!
     

Share This Page