What's new

How to Build Sub into Wall Unit? (1 Viewer)

GaryJ

Stunt Coordinator
Hi:

I have built a rather large wall unit for my family room. The unit is 8’ tall 12’ wide and 28” deep. I have left the bottom area open from 18” down and covered the front with speaker fabric. My original plan was to put a couple of retail box subs in there but am thinking I could build in a couple of neat subs in that space. The spaces in-between the supports are approx 18”HX24”WX28”D. I have never built a sub before but I did build the unit so I have some woodworking skills. I am planning on using a 15” Tempest driver and a 250W plate amp. Here are my questions.

Do I just close in the area and use all the space as a box and mount the sub in the front and the amp in the back.

Are there particular volumes I should be looking to create?

Am I better off building a box that fits in the space to avoid coupling of the sub to the wall unit?

Any other advice would be greatly appreciated.

The sub(s) will be working with Acoustic Energy Aegis One speakers. The room is 3200^3.

Thanks,

Gary

Baldemar Garcia

Stunt Coordinator
My quick experience recap:I decided to simply fill my space with a standalone DIY sub, which is good idea in case you ever want a change. I could never isolate the sub from the cabinet, loud volumes would eventually lead to skipping dvds or cds.

Whatever you decide, you need to decide the appropriate enclosure size for your sub design.

Dave Poehlman

Senior HTF Member
Well, you've got 7 cubic feet of space in each section which translates to about 198L each. You're right in the ballpark for a couple of ported subs.

The things I might be concerned about would be bracing (which will detract from your total volume) and the possibility of magnetic interference with your TV since the Tempests aren't shielded.