What's new

Home Depot Speaker Wire (1 Viewer)

Mike H Wizard

Stunt Coordinator
Hi Everyone,

Sorry, I'm a Newbie, please bear with me, just so I have clarification on a few of these things...

1. Is this the place I should post about Speaker Wire?

2. When people on this forum have mentioned electrical boxes, are they talking about the Plastic Blue Boxes that can be bought from Home Depot that nail onto the studs?

3. Home Depot 12 Gage Speaker Wire, are they talking about the

Heavy Duty Copper for both Strands at($.47/Foot) or is the

Single Copper Strand and Single Silver Strand at($.35/Foot) sufficient enough to use in the Walls and Ceilings?

Thank you again in advance,

Mike

ColinM

Senior HTF Member
The in-wall stuff depends on the codes in your area - the HD guy will know what's legal.

The 'boxes' may be the blue ones, but those are more for retrofitting in existing walls. If it's a new install, new wall and all, install the proper boxes. If you are cutting a hole a d installing a box in an existing wall, get the blue.

I have the fat clear jacket 12ga, .47 / ft. for my front 3 and the subwoofer...but NOT in any walls...

- CM

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Hi Mike.
There is actually a separate "Tweeking, Connections, and Accessories" fourm which handles a lot of wire questions. But the basics area is find. :)
Those blue electrical outlet box's - they also come in a version for after the sheatrock is already up.
There is usually a small cardboard template you put against the wall and draw the outline. Then you use a sharp knife to cut the surface paper. You can continue with the knife, but a $5 sheatrock saw works real nice.
Then you pop the box into the hole and it fits snug. It has little "ears" at the top and bottom that you reach in with a screwdriver and flip up/down. Tighten the screw to clamp the ears - and your done.
I re wired my entire house for Cat 5 computer & dual runs of RG6 coax this way.
Good Luck.

Marc Rochkind

Second Unit