What's new

Helping a rookie friend buy a system. (1 Viewer)

Timothy

Auditioning
Hey all,

I haven't been here in years. I've been into car audio lately as far as toys.

My younger friend is about to get his own place and is shopping on a budget. He has no idea what a good HT is supposed to sound like.

He knows that I have some knowledge, so I agreed to help out.

His budget is rather piddly. Less than 2-grand cash and 1-grand credit.

I started shopping for the most important thing first and ended up getting a possible bonus item.

I found a local seller of this system:

Mains: Infinity Alpha 50 Towers
Center: Infinity Alpha 37c
Surrounds: Alpha 25es (selectable monopole/dipole/tripole)
Sub: Infinity Alpha 1200S
Receiver: Yamaha RX-V730

All as a package for $1,200.00 even and I *MIGHT* be able to talk this guy down to $1,150.00.

I'm currently looking for deals on the PS3 and an LCD HD big screen. The PS3 can be used but he wants the LCD to be new or damn near new.

The budget constraints this kid put me under is more than any avid home theater hobbyist can bare. I'm pissed off I didn't find this deal for myself. >:frowning:

I have had a hard time convincing my friend to buy this system blind. I talked my friend into auditioning at this guy's house first. I'm shocked the seller didn't hang up on me for bargaining down to an insane price and then asking for an audition. THE AUDACITY! I was pushing it. The guy is a former home theater dealer and knows it's a good system. I think he's only selling it to me because I actually appreciate the goods the way he does, so that's got me a fair ways into landing the deal.

So, what do you guys think? Should my friend do this deal? The speakers are mint. The Yamaha receiver's remote is lost though, other than that it's in good shape.

Does anybody here think I can get a better deal?

Martino

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Martin O.