What's new

Help with HDTV (1 Viewer)

Tim Beebe

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Tim
Hey everyone. I'm back for more. Everyone on HTF helped me a whole bunch back when I was looking for speakers for a HT system a couple of years back. Well... I've procrastinated enough. I'm going HD... finally. I'm not an expert by any means, so, if any information I have contradicts itself, let me know. I try to be as informed as possible!

Here's what I'm looking for:

Picture is slightly more important than price.

My limit is around $3000, but I'll take suggestions for anything below $5000 (I've waited two years, I can wait a little longer if necessary).

I'm looking for at least 40", but probably more around 55" - 60".

I'm going to use it for many things in this priority:

Video Games (360, PS3 (maybe), Wii (definetely), and a whole slew of old systems)
Movies (DVD, maybe Hi-Def Format to come)
Regular TV (will probably invest in HD programming, but one step at a time :) )

I'd like 1080p, but at this point, I'll consider it a nice bonus, but definetly 1080i, 720p, etc.

HDMI also sounds like a nice future-proofing, but right now it would just be a bonus - XBOX 360 is still using Component Cables and I'm not sure if anyone is sure if Sony's PS3 will jump to HDMI or not yet (?).

I have a receiver, so the amount of inputs isn't of concern, but the variety (HDMI, etc.) could be (I thought I'd mention that since every system uses a different set of connections).

Also, I don't care about the sound quality of the TV speakers or even if there are any, since I already have the 5.1 system.

If any more information is needed, let me know! :)

Thanks in advance!

-=EDIT=- PLEASE LOOK BELOW FOR MORE UPDATED INFORMATION :) -=EDIT=-

Alon Goldberg

Screenwriter
Real Name
Alon Goldberg
Hi Tim - for $3,000 - $3,500 you have many options including:

- 56" Toshiba DLP (1080p)
- 55" Hitachi Plasma
- 50" Panasonic Plasma
- 46" Samsung LCD
- 45" Sharp Aquos LCD
- 42" Hitachi Plasma