What's new

Heart Rate Monitors - Are they necessary for an exercise program? (1 Viewer)

Jason L.

Second Unit
I've been looking at picking up the Polar S610i and getting the USB/InfraRed connector so that you can download your information to your PC. However, it is a bit pricey.

I have never used one of these before. I am not a cyclist, and until I can undergo arthroscopic knee surgery I wont be running any time soon. I can see how they can be a motivational tool. My worry is that I will be wasting my money on something whose value is questionable.

My quesitons are, how valuable are these in meeting your exercise goals? Is it necessary to try and be in your target heart rate whenever you work out? Are they annoying to wear? Do they break easily? Do the batteries run out often?

Thanks in advance.

Michael Varacin

Stunt Coordinator
Jason,

Heart rate monitors are helpful, but not always needed. I've used them for almost 10 years now, but I am an avid cyclist who trys to maximize my performance.

The downloadable Polar monitors (I have a 720i) have some great motivation tools. The one that works for me is the graph and calender tools in the software. It will display a bar graph of the time spent working out each week...it makes you feel guilty when you look and see a blank space where a thick bar should be showing your hours for that week.

The calender will display your weekly total calories burned directly on it...so at a glance, you can see how much you've done each week. Very motivating.

I also like the totals it stores for a motivator...for example, last year I burned 151,100 calories during my workouts...my goal for this year was 200,000. It makes you feel good when after a workout you see that total rise.