HDTV reciever question

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by JohanD, Dec 21, 2005.

  1. JohanD

    JohanD Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently purchased an infocus 4805 for my HT. Currently we only have basic cable service. To take advantage of the projector I was contemplating trying out an HDTV service.

    Currently we do not use cable boxes, just a straight feed into the TV. If I get an HDTV tuner and feed, will I need to put cable boxes on the rest of the TV's? Can I just add a HD tuner onto the projector and leave the rest as is?
     
  2. Eric_Connelly

    Eric_Connelly Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 1999
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes.

    If your cable company offers HD they will add the HD box.

    If they do not and you want an OTA, you can get an OTA HD tuner and hooked it up along with your cable.

    Eric
     
  3. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    I agree with Eric.

    You'll need a long component cable and the VGA adapter from Infocus to get the signal to the projector. HD will look fabulous on that machine, it looks fantastic on my X1.
     
  4. JohanD

    JohanD Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    My projector has component connectors on it, what would the converter be used for?

    Also will my other TV's still run fine without a cable box? Or would they need the HD box?
     
  5. Dick Knisely

    Dick Knisely Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Without knowing who the cable company is and exactly what they do its not possible to say with 100% certainty. But for every company and situation I'm familiar with the other TVs will operate just as before. They're getting analog stations off the cable. Adding digital service and the HD service is an addition on top of the analog signal and won't impact the basic service.
     
  6. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    Your other TVs should not be affected at all by the HD box for your EDTV projector.
     
  7. mylan

    mylan Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree with Dick on this one. I have an HDTV DVR downstairs, digital upstairs with a box, and for the bedroom tvs we don't use much, we got plain old analog with no cable box. This is with Charter and I would imagine all other cable co. as well.
     
  8. JohanD

    JohanD Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe charter is my current provider. Thanks for the tips!
     

Share This Page