What's new

Halp! Home theater newb w/questions (1 Viewer)

Justin Davis

Auditioning
OK, so I'm by no means an expert with Home Theater setups, and I need a recommendation.

Around thanksgiving, I bought this thing: http://store.vizio.com/s4251wb4.html

The satellite speakers are wireless and hook up to the subwoofer, which uses bluetooth to connect with the main soundbar. For digital inputs, its got a RCA (Coaxial) and Optical (Toslink). Those are the only ones that can get surround sound into it.

The HDTV has a few HDMI inputs. Connected to the HDMI inputs is a cable box and a PS3.

For audio output the TV has an Optical passthrough, which is currently connected to the soundbar. This is less than ideal.

The cable box works alright. I get surround sound out of it. The PS3 is the problem. It has an HDMI output and a separate optical output, which I can't use without knocking out the TV passthrough, thus meaning I have to swap the cable every time I switch between the TV and the PS3. This is not acceptable to me.

The obvious solution is to get a reciever. But I can't find an affordable (i.e. under $500) one that has an output I can use on the soundbar.

HALP!

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
You don't use powered soundbars with receivers. Never have, never will.Replace the soundbar you bought with something else with better, for you, functionality.

Justin Davis

Auditioning
schan1269 said:
You don't use powered soundbars with receivers. Never have, never will.Replace the soundbar you bought with something else with better, for you, functionality.
Well...drat.

Are there any other workaround ideas you can recommend? I was thinking a toslink switcher w/universal remote, but...I dunno. The reason I was thinking receiver is that I may get more things in the future to hook up via HDMI. Is there any other kind of passthrough box I can go for, maybe without all the cool stuff a receiver comes with but just passes through a signal?