What's new

HD newbie here..confused help please! (1 Viewer)

MarshawnM

Stunt Coordinator
Forum,
I’m new to the HD world, so if this all basic, please forgive me. My question is this. If I buy a HD Direct TV receiver with the correct dish, and an antennae (for local HD broadcasting), will I still get HD programming that is not broadcasted locally in HD, but is broadcast national in HD? Example, my local ABC affiliate broadcast some primetime programming in HD, my local Fox affiliate does not, but the national Fox network does broadcast in HD (i.e. The X-Files is broadcasted in HD). Will I be able to pick up that national Fox broadcast that is being sent out in HD or does my local affiliate HAVE to broadcast in HD in order for me to receive the signal. If this is not clear let me know and I’ll try to clear it up a little, but this shows how confused I am. And yes I do have an HD Ready TV (KV-36XBR400 WEGA). Thanks in advanced.
-Marshawn
“You do not care about HD, because you haven’t seen it!”

Mike I

Supporting Actor
You will not get the national network HD feed thru satellite..For the most part you have to get them thru your local affiliates OTA...The one exception is CBS just worked a deal with dish network to carry the CBS network east and west coast HD feed..However there are a lot of regulations on who will be allowed to receive these feeds and who will not....
------------------

MarshawnM

Stunt Coordinator
Mike,
Again, you have the all the answers! So at this time which of the satellite providers is offering more HD content, Direct TV or Dish Network? Also, is there a website that I can go to and find who and what is being offered OTA-HD in my area? Thanks!
-Marshawn
"You don't care about HD, because you haven't seen it!"

Mike I

Supporting Actor
Currently Dish network is the clear leader when it comes to HD content...If the buy out of direct tv by dish network goes thru, this could effect current direct tv receivers also...
GO to titantv.com