What's new

HD DVD players (1 Viewer)

KurtisE

Auditioning
I am interested in getting a DVD player to complement my HD television and would appreciate some help from those in "the know". Please forgive my ignorance...I am just beginning to learn. I am wanting this for movie viewing purposes first and foremost.

From what I can tell Samsung is making a bit of a buzz with their new HD931 which claims to offer a High-def picture when used with a DVI cord (which is compatible with my set). Can someone please tell me if this is the only DVD player currently available in the U.S. that has this capability. I found a model (DVD975SA) made by Phillips that seems to offer the same performance, but, I might be misreading the description. HELP!

This all started when I hooked my new HD set up to my first generation DVD player and it was NOT looking like it did in the store. The next thing you know Dolby Pro-Logic will be out of date and then I will really be fired up.....

I would appreciate some opinions.

Kurt

Dave Poehlman

Senior HTF Member
Samsung is making a bit of a buzz with their new HD931 which claims to offer a High-def picture when used with a DVI cord (which is compatible with my set).
Just for definition sake, the Samsung upconverts the standard DVD picture to 720p or 1080i. So, it's not technically HD-DVD.

I've been looking at the Samsung as well. One thing you need to know that doesn't seem to be clear in their literature is your TV's DVI input needs to be HDCP capable before you can get the upconverted HD signal.

Since the signal sent to the TV is purely digital... you should see an improvement in picture quality. I think I'll put one on my Christmas list and see what happens.

Lew Crippen

Senior HTF Member
I have not seen this player in action, but a couple of things: