What's new

front speakers drowned out (1 Viewer)

noob5684

Agent
Real Name
Colin B.
I am new to the home theaters, I have a 42" plasma with a sony dav-hdx500 dvd/reciever and polk audio r300 as my front left and right speakers with the polk audio cs10 center and the polk psw10 for sub with the polk monitor 30 as surround. I use my pc to watch blu-ray and dvd..

seems like the front gets drowned out from the action. my pc is hdmi. the actually video card is a xfx hd5870 xxx edition.

but on the computer sound settings it only comes up as a 2 channel. but you hear it wrap around you.

Adam Gregorich

What to watch tonight?
Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Adam
Welcome to Home Theater Forum Colin. Its very possible that you are sending out only two channels from your PC via HDMI, but your receiver is using Pro Logic II or some other surround mode to generate a realistic surround signal from it.

I'm not sure what you mean when you way the front gets drowned out by the action. Do you mean the surround speakers are drowning out the front? Is it just dialog that is being drowned out or all three speakers across the front?

Did you ever set speaker distances and calibrate/setup your receiver?

noob5684

Agent
Real Name
Colin B.
Thank you for the Welcome. I am new to this. I read other forums and listening to others say how much Home theaters gets them off to be blunt. I was thinking that sounds like me. but thank you for the welcome.

Now you hit it right on spot. with PC via HMDI it is only supporting two channels after looking around, there is no setting to change it to a 5.1 surround setting. I have to do some more research on that issue.

Meaning "drowned out' it sounds like all three front speakers lose their vocal aspect I guess you could say. When a action part of the movie happens.