Firmware update cures lockup on Toshiba HD-DVD players

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Steve Schaffer, Jun 2, 2006.

  1. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1
    According to this thread over at AVS a firmware update to cure lockup, stuttering, some HDMI problems, and clipping via HDMI is imminent for the Toshiba HD-DVD players. Many are reporting complete resolution of lockup/stuttering on the worst problem discs.

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...6&page=1&pp=30

    The new firmware is already loaded on many later production players, will be avaible on disc for those who contact Toshiba, and also should be downloadable via the player's ethernet port sometime in the coming week. It's already available via someone on the above mentionned thread but I don't have the computer savvy to get it and burn it so I'm waiting for either the disc or the ethernet connection option.
     
  2. CaptDS9E

    CaptDS9E Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 1999
    Messages:
    2,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the update and it does fix the lockup problems ive had so far on a few discs. Only disc im still having problems with is Cinderella Man, but its more likely a disc problem as it happens in the same spot no matter what. So im going to exchange it
     
  3. Travis Hedger

    Travis Hedger Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1998
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Heh, what would this update do for those of us that have had 0 problems?

    I think Ill hold off until a problem actually occurs for me.

    So far I have put in a number of SD DVDs and 8 HD DVDs and haven't had a single issue.
     
  4. TedD

    TedD Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    It also fixes the black and white clipping over HDMI. I installed it on my HD-D1 with no issues.

    Ted
     
  5. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1
    Worked up the nerve to download and burn the new software and install on my HD-A1. Am now playing Van Helsing, which stuttered badly on 2 of the 3 previous times I played it. Am now well past the point where it acted up before and it's fine. I'm tempted to go buy a copy of Jarhead and see if that still stutters like the rental I had before.
     
  6. Andrew Bunk

    Andrew Bunk Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0

    That's great to hear. Brings me once step closer to possibly trying a second-run box.
     
  7. Dave Moritz

    Dave Moritz Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    5,568
    Likes Received:
    486
    Location:
    California
    Real Name:
    Dave Moritz
    Even though I had decided to go with the Blu-ray player. I am really glad to hear that the fix seems to be working for the HD=DVD player [​IMG].
     
  8. Kevin. W

    Kevin. W Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had my HD-A1 with April build date for a couple off weeks. Never had any problems with the 3 HD-DVD's I bought(Serenity, Chronicles and Van Helsing). Update to the new firmware without a hitch. Since day one I've been truly impressed with the PQ/SQ this unit puts out.
     
  9. Frank@N

    Frank@N Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now that updates are coming out, is there any indication that the A1 will eventually be able to output in 1080p?

    Or is this an issue that will have to wait till HDMI 1.3 is out?

    Also, will all existing players and displays be 1.3 compatible?
     
  10. Peter Overduin

    Peter Overduin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sales people at Future Shop in my area say the A! cant be uploaded with firmware upgrades; it has to be sent out...only the higher model can be. I am still on the fence here, is this true? Thanks
     
  11. Nils Luehrmann

    Nils Luehrmann Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    1080p support has nothing to do with HDMI 1.3 - no version of HDMI limits 1080p output. The problem is with the video processor. The broadcom chip used by the Toshibas doesn't support 1080p output, and no firmware update will change that.

    Of course there are alternative measures one can put in place, including using a display like Sony's Ruby SXRD projector, or an external video processor that has a chip capable of proper 1080i 3:2 pulldown deinterlacing... but you better be sure your display will accept that 1080p input, otherwise you are back to square one.
     
  12. Stan Rozenfeld

    Stan Rozenfeld Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 27, 2000
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0


    Peter,

    I just uploaded new firmware to my hd-a1 with no problems. Others have done the same.

    Stan
     
  13. Peter Overduin

    Peter Overduin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stan; thanks for that. Much appreciated.
     
  14. Ron-P

    Ron-P Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Messages:
    6,284
    Likes Received:
    5
    Real Name:
    Ron
    Peter, you might want to correct the Future Shops guys so there not spreading false info.

    I just uploaded the new firmware onto my A1. Haven't had much time to play much but I did notice that menu nav is much quicker.
     
  15. JediFonger

    JediFonger Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    24
    Real Name:
    YiFeng You
    read from digitalbits that fw update via ethernet is like 30+min.

    how long does it take to update via disc? i imagine people can d/l firmware, burn on disc and follow directions to get fw updated. i've done that on me pioneer 588 =)
     
  16. Paul Anthony

    Paul Anthony Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anybody got that actual Firmware Disc in the mail yet? I'm starting to get a little impatient. [​IMG]
     
  17. JediFonger

    JediFonger Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    24
    Real Name:
    YiFeng You
    can't you d/l and burn CDR/RW?
     
  18. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1

    Yes, go to post #286 in the thread linked to at AVS in the first post in this thread for instructions. I did it successfully despite total igorance of burning cds. Once I got the cd burned and placed it in the player the update took about 6 or 7 minutes. It will spit out the disc when done--it's a good idea to then power down and wait for the red power light to actually go out, unplug for a minute or so, then plug it back in and power on. None of your audio or picture settings will be lost.

    This download is not from the Toshiba site, but is the genuine article.
     
  19. Michael Cucka

    Michael Cucka Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, CT
    Real Name:
    Michael Cucka
    FYI - There's a current thread on AVS with posts concerning someone who received their firmware update disc that contains version 1.3 - I'm waiting to see about this one as there is mention about 1080p...
     
  20. Larry Sutliff

    Larry Sutliff Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2000
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    10


    I'm waiting on mine, too. Hopefully soon, though I haven't had any of the lockup problems that others have. But I want to see if the firmware will allow BTB and WTW to be passed over the DVI connection...
     

Share This Page