Firewire Cable Boxes

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Jerry -jb, Nov 2, 2003.

  1. Jerry -jb

    Jerry -jb Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone believe that the cable companies is going to release a Firewire Enable Hi-Def Cable Box anytime soon?
     
  2. John Kotches

    John Kotches Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jerry,

    This probably isn't the best forum to ask this. You might try A/V Sources instead...

    IMO, there's no substantial incentive to add Firewire to HD capable cable boxes.

    Regards,
     
  3. Richard Paul

    Richard Paul Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I would think from the consumer perspective that Firewire would be wanted on HD cable boxes since its the only way to record High Definition.

    The cable "Plug-and-Play" agreement recently passed by the FCC requires cable companies with cable systems of 750 MHz (or greater) channel capacity to provide on request (of a customer) a HD cable box with an active Firewire output starting April 1, 2004. The agreement also requires that all HD cable boxes must include both Firewire and HDMI starting July 1, 2005 (technically DVI-HDCP can be used instead of HDMI, but by 2005 even cable companies will have upgraded to HDMI).
     
  4. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jerry, FYI: The Widescreen Review area was set up for discussions about stories and reviews appearing in the magazine for whom John Kotches above writes.
     

Share This Page