What's new

eBay transaction gone horribly wrong…Help! (1 Viewer)

cafink

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Carl Fink
Well, I might be exaggerating with the "horribly wrong" bit, but today I received a laserdisc I purchased through an eBay auction ("THE WIZARD" with Fred Savage, for those who are curious). The final price was $41. Shipping was $5, and the seller offered optional insurance for $1.30. I chose not to purchase insurance, as I'm a poor student who could barely afford the disc as it was, and I've never had any problems with mailing laserdiscs in the past.

Anyway, the problem is that the disc has a giant crack in it. It's just about split in half, only barely still in one piece. The packaging was really flimsy. Just a soft mailing envelope and some bubble wrap, no sturdy cardboard or anything. As you can imagine, I'm really upset!

I just e-mailed the seller, explaining that I'd like a refund, as the item did not arrive in the condition described. Is there anything further I should do? It's been a pretty awful week for me and I don't need $46 to go down the drain on top of it all.

Thanks for your help.

Carl

alan halvorson

Senior HTF Member
Every broken laser disc I have received was packed in the same manner as yours - it's inexcusible. But they do it. If the disc isn't broken or cracked, then the jacket is bent.

Whether you bought insurance or not, in this case, does not matter. It is the responsiblity of the seller to package an item adequately to protect it from normal hazards. Yours did not - simple cardboard reinforcement would have made all the difference. In all cases where a laser disc I bought arrived cracked or broken, I asked for and received a refund, including shipping. As proof to the seller, I made a photo of the disc, making certain the title could be seen. You might not need to do this, but it does reinforce your case.