What's new

DVD'S WITH SURROUND SOUND (1 Viewer)

HTROLAND

Agent
Real Name
Roland
I'm new to HT and about to finish my 5.1. Do regular DVD's have surround sound or just Blu Rays? I haven't bought any DVDs. Do they specify anything about the sound that is recorded on it? I have played DVDs from friends, public library's or copied version also from friends. What about from OTA or Cable? Do they have suround sound? I understand CD's and VCR's if played on the new HT receivers will only play in stereo. Am I right? What about DVD's?

THANKS FOR EDUCATING ME.

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
Most dvd's have either Dolby Digital or DTS surround sound. But many older movies and television shows are either Dolby mono 2.0, stereo or just plain mono. And of course you can simulate surround sound from a stereo source with things like Dolby ProLogic, DTS Neo:6 and H/K's Logic 7.

Most dvd's discs with surround sound have an audio setup menu where you can choose which format you'ld like to use.

Steve Schaffer

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Steve Schaffer
[SIZE= 14px]Commercially produced dvds will usually state on the back of the case what the audio format options are. If not you can click on "audio" or "languages" on the menu screen to bring up that information. On most recently produced films the primary soundtrack will have surround encoding while secondary tracks may not.[/SIZE]

[SIZE= 14px]Surround tracks on DVD will be either "lossy" Dolby Digital or occasionally DTS, BD discs most commonly use "lossless" Dolby Tru-HD or DTS Master Audio.[/SIZE]

[SIZE= 14px]Local broadcast channels will vary. All the major networks, ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, etc. provide DD 5.1 surround sound feeds to their affilliates but not all local affilliates can broadcast in that format, some downconvert it to 2 channel. [/SIZE]

[SIZE= 14px]Downloadable streaming video from Netflix, etc will usually be 2.0 to conserve bandwidth.[/SIZE]

HTROLAND

Agent
Real Name
Roland