What's new
World Wide Stereo

TCL roku tv surround sound issue (1 Viewer)

cupojo

Auditioning
Joined
Jan 12, 2019
Messages
9
Real Name
joe s
Here is the set up
TV TCL Roku 65S535
Optical audio cable out to Receiver Panasonic SA-XR55

I cannot get surround sound to work. Anything i send thru the optical audio cable only comes out as stereo from my receiver. Ive tried various settings on the tv. Any suggestions? (I know for sure surround sound works, i've sent DVD, cable box thru the receiver, and that works)
 
Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2000
Messages
18,935
Location
A Mile High
Real Name
John
What is the source? Internal tuner/apps or an hdmi input?
 

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2000
Messages
18,935
Location
A Mile High
Real Name
John
Also, there’s probably a configuration for the optical output. It should probably be set to “Bitstream”.
 

cupojo

Auditioning
Joined
Jan 12, 2019
Messages
9
Real Name
joe s
Optical audio cable out to Receiver Panasonic SA-XR55

The source is the apps streaming from the tv...out thru the optical cable to the receiver to the speakers

there is no 'bitstream' settings, like i mentioned, i've gone through all the audio options on the tv
 

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2000
Messages
18,935
Location
A Mile High
Real Name
John
There should be a setting in the TV for the optical output. What are the options?
 

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2000
Messages
18,935
Location
A Mile High
Real Name
John
The other option is to cycle through the surround settings on the receiver to see if one of them is Dolby Digital. The receiver might be set to play back that input in stereo.
 

cupojo

Auditioning
Joined
Jan 12, 2019
Messages
9
Real Name
joe s
Thanks for the replies. There was a specific set of settings to make this work, mainly to force the output to optical, even tho it was coming thru there also when not forced. But all is good now.
 

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2000
Messages
18,935
Location
A Mile High
Real Name
John
I'm glad you found the solution.

The cause of the problem wasn't necessarily in the TV, so I was trying to find where it was. Even if the TV is outputting a dolby digital signal, the receiver can still be set up to play it as stereo.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Sign up for our newsletter

and receive essential news, curated deals, and much more







You will only receive emails from us. We will never sell or distribute your email address to third party companies at any time.

Latest Articles

Forum statistics

Threads
357,291
Messages
5,134,845
Members
144,344
Latest member
adityalbarrett
Recent bookmarks
0
Top