DTS---->SH-AC500D vs MILLENNIUM

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tom Garvey, Aug 28, 2002.

  1. Tom Garvey

    Tom Garvey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Old school.. I know!

    Which one should I get?
     
  2. Stephen Dodds

    Stephen Dodds Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 1998
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get the Technics. Much more flexible. Sounds the same.

    Steve
     
  3. Tom Garvey

    Tom Garvey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Stephen.. What kind of flexibility? Niether has bass management.. is this right?
    BTW.. nice looking pad you have there and the speakers are..... well I have no words. They must sound damn good. [​IMG]
     
  4. Tony Lai

    Tony Lai Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    The SH-AC500D has fixed 80Hz.

    Millenium I don't remember but the manual is on the site.

    T.
     
  5. Chuck Kent

    Chuck Kent Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 29, 1999
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ummmm... I never owned either one but I "thought" that the Technics did do bass management on DTS (along with DD. I remember a 100 or 120 Hz highpass/lowpass point though.)

    The Millenium does not do any bass management at all. All you can do is to indicate whether or not you have certain speakers present. But if you do, they need to be large...
     
  6. derek

    derek Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 1998
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the 500d. I believe the crossover is 100hz. It does have a six channel passthrough which is nice. The only negative on my unit (I believe newer units resolved this) was it does not autodetect dd/dts.
     
  7. RichardMA

    RichardMA Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Millenium sounds better than my Sony TA-E9000ES
    DTS processing so I would bet 100% it sounds better
    than the Technics unit.
     
  8. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    The Millenium is an audiophile grade pice that was build (like a tank) by MSB technology and originally listed at $599. It has excellent Burr-Brown DACS and Motorolla processing. It has pass-through and is extremely flexible in setup. It also has no bass management beyond sub on or off. DTS only.

    The Technics is a mass market mid-fi piece that is not the same build quality or component quality. However, it does Dolby Digital, which the Millenium does not. It also is extremely flexible but I think it has bass management.

    I had a Millenium for a few years and I loved it. Fantastic sounding unit.
     
  9. Tom Garvey

    Tom Garvey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Philip,

    What are the speaker settings? Are just the fronts set to large or are all speakers set to large?

    Thanks everyone!
     
  10. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    All speakers are large all the time. Since most of my DTS stuff back in the day was LD which was mastered to use the LFE channel for most of the bass anyways, it wasn't a problem.

    Aesthetically I think the silver Millenium is very nice indeed. Looks like a half rack professional unit and in fact it comes with rack ears should you want to mount it. Take a look at my "through the years" pages (click the little green house then scroll to the bottom and hit the link) to see it in my rack.
     
  11. Robert G

    Robert G Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have a Millenium decoder and it is a wonderful unit. I no longer use it because I upgraded to a Denon 3802 from a Denon 2700 (no DTS). But when I did use it I liked it a lot. As a matter of fact I really need to get rid of the Millenium (silver). If you are interested Tom, let me know and maybe we can work something out. I will have to look, but I think I have the original packaging with all of the parts.
     
  12. Tom Garvey

    Tom Garvey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Robert,
    I'm interested.. email me with what you feel is a fair asking price plus shipping. [email protected]
    I have a question to anyone.. Do/did you find the full range signal to the center and bookshelf rears to be a problem.. distortion?
     
  13. Gregg Loewen

    Gregg Loewen Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.
    Insider

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,373
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    New England
    Real Name:
    Gregg Loewen
    Tom, or anybody else, I have a Technics 500 for sale right now. $150 plus shipping. Email me if interested.

    Gregg
     
  14. Kevin Alexander

    Kevin Alexander Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 1999
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd go w/ the Technics that Gregg is offering. There is no difference in sound quality betwen the Technics and the Millenium.
     
  15. Tom Garvey

    Tom Garvey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kevin.. Did you own both?
     
  16. Ken Leggatt

    Ken Leggatt Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the Technics piece and it is great! The newer units defintely are able to autodetect DD or DTS. I would get the unit for sure.
     
  17. Kevin Alexander

    Kevin Alexander Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 1999
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't own both, but I did compare it against the Millenium and the Rotel DTS decoder. There was no perceptable difference between the 3 to my ears.
     
  18. Don.K

    Don.K Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tom, how are you planning to connect the decoder? I'm thinking of getting one too. Using a Sony SDP-9ES DD processor but wondering if I could connect a DTS decoder to it.
     
  19. Tom Garvey

    Tom Garvey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don.. You can connect either of these two units to the EP9ES using the 6 channel pass through.
     
  20. Don.K

    Don.K Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tom, I'm not sure how that works. Using the Sony as a preamp, digital out on dvd player goes to DTS decoder, 6ch analog out on DTS decoder to 6ch bypass in on Sony, then from the Sony out to 6ch poweramp. Did I get it correct?Using the bypass on the Sony defeats the vol. control, so the question is how do I control the main vol. then?

    What I thought of doing is to connect the digital out on the dvd player to the DTS decoder, then using the digital out on the DTs decoder, connect to digital input on the DD processor. Will this work?
     

Share This Page