Dig Cable Double-speak. Translation needed.

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Steve_Ma, Feb 5, 2002.

  1. Steve_Ma

    Steve_Ma Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone tell me if my cable co (AT&T) is full of it? What does the below mean? I've had dig cable for some months now. It's ok. I was told by the tech that AT&T does a box upgrade when requested. Adding an S-Video out to the box. I have confirmed it's possible on that unit. Well, the short answer was no, but their explanation confounds me:

    "Digital NexTV provides higher quality video services to your existing television set without requiring the purchase of a special High Definition Television. AT&T delivers digital signals in a 64 QAM modulation format. The digital signal allows our customers to realize improved noise and distortion performance through the cable system (increased audio and video quality). Our Digital Set Top Box interfaces directly your TV in the NTSC video (coaxial input) format."

    I just got a new Sony Wega (mostly for DVDs). I really don't even care about TV all that much or I would be using a satellite dish or something, but should I be annoyed with this?

    Any input appreciated.

    --Steve
     
  2. Paul_Dunlop

    Paul_Dunlop Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    I would say that your Digital box should have the following
    Composite Video
    S-Video
    Coaxial Digital Audio
    Stereo RCA
    this should be in addition the the coax connection that we all used to run through our VCR's
    If they only provide a COAX connection, how are you to utilize the better video quality and the extremely better audio??
    Hope it works out for you
    Take it easy
     
  3. Steve_Ma

    Steve_Ma Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Paul,

    The cable box does not have the component and S-vid out. Just the reg coax. I knew that months ago. S-Vid is optional equipment and rather than provide it, it seems like they are trying to tell me how their technology makes it unnecessary. It smells kinds fishy, which is why I'm looking to find out more about the "64 QAM modulation format" and what the heck it means for me.

    --Steve
     
  4. Steve_Ma

    Steve_Ma Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry. mis post.

    --Steve
     
  5. Steve_Ma

    Steve_Ma Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a follow-up. I got this response from someone on the AVS forum who lives in my area and thought I'd post it in case someone else has a question regarding this issue.

    --Steve

     

Share This Page