Decent Basic All-In-One System

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Ed O'Brien, Nov 7, 2003.

1. Ed O'Brien

Ed O'Brien Auditioning

I'm a car audio junkie that is new to the home theater market. I am looking for an All-In-One home theater with a DVD player in one package. (I like to keep the remotes to a minimum, so I'd like it all in one box. I know I could use a universal remote, but I'm just trying to keep it simple.)

Anyway, I'm looking for just a basic 5.1 kit for around $600. (for a room about 20 ft x 10 ft) I know this isn't a lot of money, (I've spent more than 3 times this on my car stereo) but I just wanted to see what is out there for a decent price.

I'm not an audio newbie by any means, so any technical explanations of why to go with certains brands/models will not go wasted.

I'm just looking for some baseline recommendations of decent systems worth their price, so I can get started from there. I know in the car audio world there is sometimes better performance and value when you go outside the common namebrands of sony, pioneer, kenwood, etc.

Thanks!

2. John S

John S Producer

You want a sub, 4 sats, a reciever, and a center channel for $600??? I think you can do it decent, but I would put all the money into the reciever, 4 sats, and center channel and save for a really good sub.

3. Bill_Wil

Bill_Wil Stunt Coordinator

4. steve nn

steve nn Cinematographer

If I were determined to go with a HTiB I would go with Bill's recomendation. This is a good HTiB and will trounc most compitition even at a higher price point.

If upgrading is in your future? I then would go the sep rout and do the sub at a latter date as John sugjests. This option will save you $$ in the long-run and you will end up with a better system.

5. ChrisLazarko

ChrisLazarko Supporting Actor

My opinion is just to skip HTiB. Basically they are low-end speakers with a low-end reciever, in most cases unless you spend alot.