What's new

Connecting a powered sub to a Pioneer 1019AH-K receiver (1 Viewer)

HTROLAND

Agent
Real Name
Roland
I am new to HT and converting my stereo to a 5.1 system. From the beginning I have been concerned about connectivity since there are a lot of components and different manufacturers out there. I have bought a Pioneer 1019AH-K receiver and a Yamaha YST-SW315 powered Subwoofer. Now that I am putting them together, Yamaha's manual said I cannot connect the sub to the receiver because the receiver only has one PRE OUT. I can only connect it using speaker cable from the receiver's speaker output terminals. The receiver only have an output from zone 2 (video and audio left and right), DVR output (video and audio left and right) and out CD-R (audio left and right). These are all the outputs aside from the front,center and surround speakers. All this connections are RCA connections. I don't know if I can use these outputs plus if connected to the Sub, connection is by wire (left + and -), (right + and -). Can anyone help me resolve this problem and hope I will no longer have this connectivety problem. I still have to connect a blu-ray Sony BDP S570. The receiver only shows a connection from the one PRE OUT to the SubWoofer.

Michael Reuben

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Reuben
This is your second thread using your name as a title. It's not the best way to get help.

I'm changing the thread title to something that describes the issue on which you're seeking help. I'm also moving the thread to the Receivers area, since this is primarily a receiver question.

HTROLAND

Agent
Real Name
Roland
Sorry Michael, thought title is my name and Subject is what I am asking. Don't you think subject is better than title? I was debating if its suppose to be connectivity but anway THANKS

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
Originally Posted by HTROLAND

Yamaha's manual said I cannot connect the sub to the receiver because the receiver only has one PRE OUT.