Coax out stopped working!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeff Kleist, Jan 31, 2002.

  1. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    I only plug in my APEX with Coax when I want to watch a region free DVD in 5.1 (maybe 1 or twice a month). The output has ceased to work. Last time it was kinda iffy, this time, totally dead. The Cable and the reciever are good as my everyday player is still fine. Suggestions? I'm thinking that one of the connections may be broken inside, and that just going in there witha blob of solder will solve the problem. This is supported by the fact that the terminal feels "loose"

    Ideas?
     
  2. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's very possible. You could have tightened the connection too much last time. See if you can crack it open without voiding any warranty seal.

    Glenn
     
  3. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    The connection can be too tight? I figured something broke loose inside.....
    I also found this thread on the subject. He says that the jack is not grounding to the frame or something, so maybe some solder around the jack? I'm kind of confused ;(
    http://www.nerd-out.com/forum/viewto...5657&forum=6&9
     
  4. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'd have to crack it. The coax connecter is connected to the case by who knows how. If there is a washer/lock nut on the inside, you might have loosened it while removing the coax wire from the back.

    The connector may 'snap in' too. Again if it worked loose, (or maybe it loosened up just enough to twist the wire that connnects to the board, causing it to break) and/or broke, super glue may be in order.

    You could take it to Radio Shack, as they do have those. Opening up the DVD player should be easy, but once in a while they will put one screw under a sticker. Oh, and pull the plug out first.

    Glenn
     
  5. KeithH

    KeithH Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jeff, you've gotten some good suggestions here. If you are able to fix the APEX unit, you would be well served to invest in another coaxial digital cable that can be left connected to the player at all times. Continually connecting and disconnecting cables can lead to the problem you are observing. Best of luck fixing your player.
     
  6. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was thinking about picking up an optical cable for my Pioneer, my reciever only has 1 coax in [​IMG]
    Thanks for all the suggestions, I'll go prep the patient [​IMG]
     
  7. KeithH

    KeithH Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jeff, good luck.
     
  8. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing, I opened it up and the soldering points look fine on the plug. However it still feels loose. It appears that the plug is not grounded to the case or something. Everything I tried to do to attach something from the case to the plug failed [​IMG].
    You aren't skilled in the art of soldering are you Keith? [​IMG]
     
  9. KeithH

    KeithH Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jeff, sorry, but I have no experience soldering anything. Wish I could help you out. I wonder if anyone on the DIY and Advanced HT Topics Area could help you out.
     
  10. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have a metal case that may very well be the ground, but it should not be loose at any rate.
    Is there a nut on the inside that is loose, or possibly something broke off? (Hint - turn it upside down and give it a shake) [​IMG]
    If it is plastic, then the grounding part probably fell off completely. Yuck!
    You won't be able to solder it to a metal case because the heat will just spread out over the entire case.
    Glenn
     
  11. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, all the other jacks are screwed to the case, but the coax isn't for some reason. Yes, the case is all metal.

    There was nothing inside the case loose when I opened it ;(
     
  12. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    You did say that you can use a soldering pencil/iron? I'd remove it and take it to a Radio Shack or any electronics repair ship and get another one. (with a nut this time!) [​IMG]
    Glenn
     
  13. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know how to solder wires together, or to a terminal, I don't know how to remove things from boards though [​IMG]
     
  14. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah! Then this is a PC board mount. I thought it was just connected to the back of the case. (I missed seeing the picture before, and now the link is dead).

    You'd have to remove the circuit board from the case, and heat it up from underneath. However, now that it is 'open', (you need a 2nd person here) the lugs that go through the board and connect with the circuitry probably became loose and thus, you lost the connection. (Bad solder joint)

    After the solder is hot, have someone else press it into the board and apply fresh solder. It might be possible to heat it up without removing the board.

    Glenn
     
  15. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've opened it up and removed the board for inspection already. I didn't see anything, but you may be right. So let me get this straight. I have a standard pencil soldering iron

    Touch the iron to the solder underneath until it gets soft, and then push the plug down into it hard? Then put in more solder and try again?
     
  16. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    You've got it! As an alternative, you could remove the entire socket, solder two wires to each of the points on the circuit board, and connect them to a regular connector that you screw on to the back. (Only do that if the entire socket is f$%*%&ed)!

    Glenn
     

Share This Page