What's new
World Wide Stereo

Cheap Receiver/Speakers (1 Viewer)

Andrew Sch

Auditioning
I haven't seen a good low-end thread in a while. I'm a college student and want a setup for my room. I'm willing to spend up to $500 on my entire setup. For now, I'll probably want a pair of bookshelf speakers, a receiver and (depending on the speakers) a sub. I'd probably want the receiver to do 5.1 or better for upgradability.

I listen mostly to Classic Rock and Classical music.

I'm seeing a pair of JBL S26's for around $160 and the Denon AVR-1603 for around $170 at macmall. But those are completely up in the air.

Thanks.

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

ChristopherDAC

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
AE5VI
For about US$100, the Sherwood RD-6108 is quite a decent reciever. Not so flashy as the Sony or Yamaha in the same price range, but it uses an F connector for FM, and it has a real power switch, not just "standby". :D

Andrew Sch

Auditioning
Interesting, though I figure for $550 I can probably do better on the receiver (unless you feel that the Sherwood would perform better than something in a higher price range). How about a pair of bookshelves?

anthony_b

Screenwriter
You could probably get a Yamaha htr-5740 for about $260 and with the rest of your budget you can get a pair of Polk Audio bookshelf speakers at closeout prices at Circuit City and have some money left over....good luck :emoji_thumbsup:

Michael.M.C

Stunt Coordinator
Onkyo 770 HTIB I believe to be your best bet. A 6.1 system its presently on sale for $499 at Circuit City.

Andrew Sch

Auditioning
How would the above setups stack up to:

$124.88 Dayton 10" Subwoofer from partsexpress
$219.99 Denon AVR-1803 from macmall
$154.79 pair of JBL S26II from top-100-electronics yahoo store

for a subtotal of $499.66 before costs of shipping?

Michael.M.C

Stunt Coordinator