What's new

Celeron Processors (1 Viewer)

Keith_R

Screenwriter
Real Name
Kyle
Hey all, I may be forced in to buying a new computer soon. Unfortunately I only have the money to buy from a place like Circuit City or Bestbuy and get a entry level machine ($400-$600) with a intel celeron chip. I mainly use my computer for internet, email and occasionally typing a report or two. I'm pretty sure a Celeron (2.2GHZ) can handle this but I'm kind of concerned about the Celeron chip, I currently have an older one in my computer and was hoping to jump to a Pentium 4 if I have to buy a new computer, but as of this weekend I'll only have enough money for an entry level machine. What are the pros and cons of Celerons? will they handle my needs okay? Thanks.

MarkHastings

Senior HTF Member
Keith, I'm not an expert on this, but I will offer what i think is correct as far as Celerons (and others can correct me if I'm wrong). I believe Celerons are meant for "light" work. They aren't meant to handle the demands of MultiMedia. I know for a fact that you can not add a DVD drive to a Celeron processor. Also, you won't be able to do any 3D games (that well at least) or any type of video or high end graphics work.

As far as MP3's, I'm not really sure if a Celeron will work well, or even digital photos for that matter.

Again, I'm no expert, but what you've mentioned (email, internet, Writing papers, etc.) should be fine, just remember that you won't be able to upgrade easily in the future.

Hopefully someone can ellaborate or confirm my reply.

Jonny K

Second Unit
Heh. Actually, allow me to correct you both. The Celeron is simply a slightly slower version of the Pentium. Therefore, if you compare a Pentium 4 with a Celeron, the celeron will be a little slower and it will cost a little less.