CBS HD On Dish Goes Live Today (8/14) ??

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Gregg Loewen, Aug 14, 2001.

  1. Gregg Loewen

    Gregg Loewen Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.
    Insider

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,373
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    New England
    Real Name:
    Gregg Loewen
  2. Gregg Loewen

    Gregg Loewen Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.
    Insider

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,373
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    New England
    Real Name:
    Gregg Loewen
    They said yes,
    9453 for NYC feed
    9454 for LA feed
    However, Im told that since I can OTA the regular CBS affiliate (I can't) that I am not eligible for the HT CBS.
    Gregg
    ------------------
    The Sonodome
    The Newest Sonotube
    Gregg's DVDs
    The Family Units
     
  3. Paul Dyar

    Paul Dyar Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it because you supposed can get the regular CBS feed over the air or is it because you have an affiliate with HD in your area? My local affiliate does not have HD and will not have it till at least next spring. If I can get the CBS feed from Dish I would dump my cable and get Dish right away. Where are the rules on getting the CBS HD? I know I don't qualify for the regular locals on Dish does that mean I can't qualify for the CBS HD too.
     
  4. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    If you live in a city that has a CBS owned and operated affiliate, you are automatically qualified. If you live in a city that has the local CBS affiliate, you can add CBS-HD for $1.99. If you live in a white area and qualify for the distant networks, you can add CBS-HD for $1.99. If your local CBS affiliate grants you a waiver, you can add CBS-HD for $1.99.
    Most CBS affiliates that aren't on Dish have a policy to deny all waiver requests. My local CBS affiliate, WREG-Memphis, has this policy. I just saw the CBS-HD college football schedule and this station and others in the SEC viewing area will be over-loaded with requests for waivers.
    http://www.cbs.com/hdtv/hdtv_specials.shtml
    -Robert
     
  5. Matt_Stevens

    Matt_Stevens Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wait, this is confusing. I live in New Haven CT and my local CBS is in Hartford. Getting a standard 480i signal from then via an antenna is not easy (ghosting, drops out), but I can get some kind of a signal. That means I could likely get their HDTV signal "sometimes."
    So will I be able to get a waiver? Do I need to get a waiver at all? What is the actual, real policy with this DISH CBS-HD.
    ------------------
    www.deceptions.net/superman
     
  6. Gregg Loewen

    Gregg Loewen Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.
    Insider

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,373
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    New England
    Real Name:
    Gregg Loewen
    hi Paul!! Who do I yell at?
    DISH is clear that I can not get either the Network feed, or HD feed without a waiver from the Portland affiliate. I have a phone call out to them now. This is kind of rediculous, as I already have a OTA antenna installed and the reception is far from adequate. The local affiliate has no immediate intentions of broadcasting a HD signal (I am too far away to receive it anyway).
    Gregg
    ------------------
    The Sonodome
    The Newest Sonotube
    Gregg's DVDs
    The Family Units
     
  7. PerryD

    PerryD Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2000
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in the Chicago area (CBS O&O) and couldn't get DISH to sign me up for the CBS-HD feed. I was put on hold several times, and the person on the phone kept saying that I would need a waiver, or my equipment said I couldn't receive it, her supervisor is denying my request, etc. Eventually I got disconnected while being transferred.
    I'll try back, but it would be nice if there could be a direct line to someone that knows how to handle the CBS-HD requests, rather than trying to educate each of the probably hundreds of Customer service reps that they have.
     
  8. Bruce N

    Bruce N Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2000
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Big mondo discussions of this are going on over at The AVS Forum . Look in the HDTV Programming section. Lots of very knowledgable people over there.
    Bruce
    ------------------
    "Why do I sense we've picked up another pathetic lifeform?"
     
  9. PerryD

    PerryD Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2000
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    0
    I called Dish back. The rep again put me on hold off and on for probably close to a half an hour, but finally said that they added CBS-HD to my program package for $1.50. I checked it and it works! I watched about 3 minutes of Jag and got bored, however, not too impressive. Still, I'm very happy to have another HD channel.
     
  10. Scooter

    Scooter Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 1998
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    DFW Area Texas
    Real Name:
    Scooter
  11. Kevin Coleman

    Kevin Coleman Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Scooter,
    You can leave it in HD mode all of the time. It will upconvert the SD chanells to 1080I. I had my Dish 6000 hooked up to my Sony 400Q before I sold it and it looked excellent. I say go for it.
    Kevin C. [​IMG]
     
  12. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    What Kevin said is right on..Leave the 6000 in the HD mode and it will upconvert standard channels to either 1080i or 720p which ever you have it set for..It makes standard channels look great especially the premium true digital channels...
    ------------------
     
  13. Scooter

    Scooter Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 1998
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    DFW Area Texas
    Real Name:
    Scooter
    Thanks for the reply! Looks like I am going to have pick this up! I want the CBS-HD...if only I could find a VCR to record digital!
    Second question....does this recieve OTA/Cable as well...and if so...does it do the upconvert thing for these channels as well?
    ------------------
    "The ScootPlex2000 is the ONLY theater I screen films for review in!"
    David Manning-Critic
    http://www.hometheaterforum.com/scooter3/party.html
    http://www.hometheaterforum.com/scooter2/index.html
    [Edited last by Scooter on August 19, 2001 at 07:49 AM]
     
  14. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 6000 with the 8vsb module will pick up ota channels both digital and analog and incorporate them into the program guide....No cable at this point..
    ------------------
     
  15. Brian Bunge

    Brian Bunge Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, here's a real question for you guys. I live in the Atlanta area and am receiving my local analog channels via the Dish500 system. Also, when I signed up 3 years ago (before locals were available) I got the East and West coast feeds as well as all the Super Stations. So since I already have the East and West coast analog CBS channels should I be able to get either one or the other of the CBS HD feeds? I'm thinking I'm grandfathered for the analogs because I've had them since before locals were available. But I'm wondering if they give me any grief if I can use the fact that I already have the analogs as ammo to get the HD channels as well.
    Any ideas guys?
    Thanks,
    Brian
    ------------------
     
  16. Brian Bunge

    Brian Bunge Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Paul,
    Thanks for the response! If I had the money to spend right now I'd just get the 8VSB and an antenna in my attic (I live 40+ miles from Downtown Atlanta). I'm just trying to get some more HD content as cheap as possible for the moment! Yeah, I know. Aren't we all?
    Thanks again,
    Brian
    ------------------
     
  17. Brian Bunge

    Brian Bunge Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Paul,
    P.S. What's O&O state?
    Brian
    ------------------
     
  18. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    O&O are CBS affiliates owned and operated by CBS
    ------------------
    [Edited last by Mike I on August 20, 2001 at 09:07 AM]
     
  19. Brian Bunge

    Brian Bunge Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Paul,
    Well, I got home this evening and turned on my Dish6000, went to the HD channels and there it was! I have the east coast CBS-HD channel and didn't have to do a thing! Apparently I was grandfathered in or something because I didn't make a single phone call! It's nice to get something without having to jump through hoops for a change!
    Thanks again!
    Brian
    ------------------
     

Share This Page