What's new

Can I use 3 X1's as a 3 chip DLP substitute? (1 Viewer)

Chandler34

Auditioning
Hello again everyone. Well after much research into the projectors, I am even more confused. I was curious as to the possiblity of using 3 X1's as a substitute for a 3 chip DLP (a much cheaper alternative no doubt, at this point my budget is aprrox 15K for the projector) Would the brightness be increased 3x's? The screen is a 110x54, can the X1 handle this big of screen? The throw distance is movable up to 24 feet. Inital thoughts were that this wouldnt work, but I am not an expert by any means, anyone care to provide some insight into this?? Thanks guys!!

RobertR

Senior HTF Member
You want to try to converge THREE fixed-panel displays onto the same screen? I don't think this will work, especially in the absence of any electronic convergence controls, such as those used by CRTs.

Mike Wladyka

Supporting Actor
the only idea i can come up with is as follows. i have no idea whether or not it would work, probably not. if you could mod the x1's to only display black and white, remove the color wheel. Then place red, green, and blue lens' on the three projectors and project the image all in the same spot. does anyone else think this could work? i have no idea why or why not it could or couldn't work...seems like it could, of course i have little background in optics...

Doug_H

Supporting Actor
There have been extensive discussions on this at AVS forum and in theory it is possible. You would remove all chance of rainbows and have an incredible picture.

The convergence would be the difficult part but just about anything is possible if you can get the right heads together.

The idea that was thrown around was simply running the green, red and Blues into seperate X1's and converging them. No modifications to the boxes themselves.

ChrisWiggles

Senior HTF Member