What's new

Buying a new washer/dryer (1 Viewer)

SteveMc

Stunt Coordinator
Anyone have advice on where to start? This is my first time i have had to deal with buying real appliances. I started looking around at Best But to get an idea of prices. We are looking at a budget of 350-400 a piece ($800 for both). I am leaning toward Maytag or even Whirlpool, but am defineately open to suggestions otherwise.
I am getting the impression at the budget i am at it doesn't really matter these days. I'll probably end up buying again a couple years down the road when I have built my house, so I can't afford more than that right now...I'll get a good energy efficient nulcear-uberpowered one then, but for now, i want to stick with the basics...3-4 speeds,water levels,temps...whatever...
------------------
Crash
"I don't even own a gun, let alone many guns that would necessitate an entire rack."
Help us get the Friday the 13th films-UNCUT. Click Here or here

Steve Tannehill

R.I.P - 4.28.2015
Senior HTF Member
Deceased Member
Real Name
Steve Tannehill
When it comes to major appliances, I tend to stick with the advice of my friends and deal with Sears. Check out the appliance section at http://www.sears.com. It is extensive, and it includes the brands you are looking for. Sort the listings by price, and you'll find many washers and dryers in your range.
Just wait for a sale before you buy...Sears has them every couple of months.
I got my Sears Kenmore washer and dryer back in 1988 and they are still in use. Nothing fancy...large capacity, minimal wash cycles (how many do you really need?) and the only problem I've had was a broken knob after about 10 years that I was able to easily replace. I'm not sure, but I think that Kenmore is actually made by Whirlpool. But since Kenmore is the store brand at Sears, you should get a better price.
I wouldn't worry about buying a stop-gap set now and a better one when you move into a house.