What's new

Buying a New HDTV (1 Viewer)

ronroz

Auditioning
Real Name
Ronnie D'Rozario
Hello All,

I am a newbie and seeking all your expert advise on my new venture. I want to get an HDTV. I have read through all the threads in newbie and burn in and LCD vs. Plasma discussions. Now I am inclined to buy a Plasma and have my eyes on Panasonic TH42PZ77.

I am open to any suggestions - please feel free to ask question. This is a big investment for me and sure could use your advise to guide me through the right path - plasma or LCD or even DLP.

I would like you all to consider the following while posting any suggestions:
• I will be watching this TV in my apartment which has a window but not necessarily always well lit.
• I will be watching mostly SD programs on Rogers cable since I do not have digital cable and cannot have it in my building because of wiring issue ( I am planning to move within 6 months though).
• No game playing at all on this TV.
• I will be watching movies on a regular DVD player - I may buy a BLUray player as soon as the prices go down.
• I do not watch sports.
• I may watch SD channels on 4:3 screen and concerned about burn in on the side bars.
• In average between myself and my wife it will be 6 hours/ day watching.
Sitting distance would be about 9ft.

Are there any new Plasma models coming out which are not as much prone to burn-ins as today's models? Will it be worth the wait?

Thank you in advance.

Craig

Second Unit