What's new

New OLED - Samsung S95B vs Sony A80K (1 Viewer)

art3mis

Auditioning
Real Name
jim
Need some buying advice after spending a day watching YouTube reviews. My 12 yr old Panny plasma is past its expiry date so in the market for an Oled.
After initial searching narrowed my choice to the Samsung S95B or the Sony A80K which my local Best Buy has on sale. I don't think the extra $1000 premium for the newer Samsung A95C is worth it.
I work in the vfx industry and have a background as photographer filmmaker so color picture accuracy is paramount. I’ve read that in general Samsung over saturates their colors. With the latest firmware update in Filmmaker Mode has this been resolved?
The other issue less important is the very poor UI that Samsung has.
Can any owners of either tv suggest other reasons to buy one over the other?
Also is the BestBuy extended warranty a good idea? 4 years for an additional $200?
Thanks!

Real Name
Brian Siano
I have the Samsung S95B. You can easily recalibrate the picture color settings. You get four settings, and each one can be recalibrated.

The only complaint I have is that the Samsung will frequently gradually dim the image as you watch: you have to bring up the settings menu for the picture to snap back to full brightness. I have no idea why the TV does this. There is a fix, involving using a different Samsung remote and accessing the service menu (and endangering the warranty), but I have not yet tried it. Search on terms like "Samsung S95B dimming" and you'll learn more. I truly wish Samsung would issue a firmware update that fixes this.

Robert_Zohn

Value Electronics
Premium
Insider
Real Name
Robert Zohn
@ art3mis Welcome to HTF!