What's new

Budget DVD Player Sound Quality (1 Viewer)

AndrewLevine

Stunt Coordinator
I currently have a Magnavox DVD player that is probably a couple years old. It does its job fine, but its a little noisy (You can hear thedisc spinning in the tray). I want to upgrade, however being a college student I have very limited funds. I do not have a fancy TV and sound quality is most important to me. (half audio, half video- CDs, MP3 CDs, and DVD-Video) If I am using digital coax to go from the DVD player to my receiver, does one DVD player have any advantage over another? Would a DVD player with 6 channel outputs be better than my current set up? What is the advantage to more expensive DVD players? Anyone have any ideas on which products to look for? (saw hk dvd players on ebay, but theyre still expensive... although they do match my set up...) So far all I have is:

-2 year old Magnavox DVD player
-HK AVR235
-Athena F2.2
-DIY 15" Quatro sub
-Monster Cable Digital Coax (only got it cause it was on sale for $8)
-BJC Belden 10 awg w/ locking banana plugs
-Raymond Cables 3m sub cable
(Eventually I will add an Athena Center channel and some extra bookshelf speakers for rears.)

Thanks everyone,
AL

Alon Goldberg

Screenwriter
Real Name
Alon Goldberg
Hi Andrew - The best budget Upconverting DVD Players on the market are the Oppo 970 and Oppo 971. Both are capable audio players (DVD-Audio, MP3, WMA, Dolby Digital/DTS/LCPM Bitstream Output, 5.1 analog Ouputs, etc). The Oppo 970 also features SACD.

If you are looking for a step up then you may want to take a look at the Denon DVD-1930CI, which is a very capable CD player in its own right.

AndrewLevine

Stunt Coordinator
Alon-