Bass shaker pre-wire

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Mike Ki, Mar 7, 2005.

  1. Mike Ki

    Mike Ki Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm currently building my home theater and am wiring for 7.1. I'd also like to pre-wire for 4 bass shakers. Do i need 4 separate wires run to the seating area, or 1 and run the other 3 off it? Thanks for any help.
    Mike
     
  2. ScottCarr

    ScottCarr Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are you driving them with?
    I posted something on this link

    [​IMG]

    Scott
     
  3. Mike Ki

    Mike Ki Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Pioneer 1014, and also an older Technics stereo receiver. I have read that I needed a second receiver but am not sure excatly how to hook it all up.
     
  4. ScottCarr

    ScottCarr Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    This should help

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Mike Ki

    Mike Ki Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info Scott.

    I was thinking about running 2 subs off the pioneer with a y split. Is this not recommended, or how would you even go about running 2 subs, or should I not even bother. They are both Energy subs, an 8 and a 10.

    Would I still be able to run bass shakers?
     
  6. ScottCarr

    ScottCarr Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Diagram updated.

    I have mine split for 8 bass shakers and 3 subs. There is some singal loss but that is what the gain or volume is for
     
  7. Mike Ki

    Mike Ki Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the great diagrams and quick responses.
     
  8. Mike Ki

    Mike Ki Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry about bringing this back up, but can i just use speaker wire for my bass shakers or do i need wires with rca connectors.
    Thanks Mike
     

Share This Page