25 watt Bass Shakers

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mark Condon, Jul 24, 2001.

  1. Mark Condon

    Mark Condon Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2000
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have 4 brand new 25 watt bass shakers. My setup will soon be an Outlaw receiver and an Outlaw amp. I am currently running only a Sony STRDE 935 (no pre outs accept for one for second room). My question is how do I hook up the shakers? I understand I should run them off the Sony but how am I supposed to get the audio signal of the movie to the Sony since it will be running via coax cable to the Outlaw receiver first and then the Outlaw amp.
    The model of bass shakers I have are the ones with speaker only wires (no rca jacks).
    Thx
    Mark Condon
     
  2. Eric Samonte

    Eric Samonte Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 1999
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What I did was have the sub out (LFE channel) split into 2, one for the sub and another to the receiver powering the shakers. That way, you only have to deal with the rumbling and stuff, and not the loud sounds from the movie soundtrack. Also, you can just "pass through" the LFE signal thru the sub, as the latter usually has a pass thru output...basically daisy chained the your shaker receiver to your existing sub.
    ------------------
    Eric Samonte
    Dito sa Pilipinas..may Hom Tiyeter rin kami!
     
  3. John H

    John H Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 1998
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  4. Mark Dubbelboer

    Mark Dubbelboer Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 1999
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Because you have the two receivers going on over there I think the easiest way to get them a-shaking would be to split the LFE out from the Outlaw. Then run one of the LFE's to your sub and the other one to an input on the sony. Then just run two bass shakers from the left speakers of the sony and two from the right.
    ------------------
     
  5. Mark Condon

    Mark Condon Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2000
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thx alot! I think I will split the LFE and send one to the sub and one to the Sony receiver like yall suggest. I will keep yall posted........
    Thx again
    Mark Condon
    P.S. I just redid my theater but I have not updated my web page yet. Will prob do it tonight so look out for the post!
    ------------------
    Mark's HT
     
  6. tom_furman

    tom_furman Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what if you didnt have a 2nd receiver?
    say you had 2 shakers and two small 25w amps?
    do you split the LFE out of the receiver, pass one along to your sub, and then split the other end again, so you have one going to each amp?
    argh..this is confusing..
     
  7. Mark Dubbelboer

    Mark Dubbelboer Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 1999
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ya i'd give that a try tom.
    treat it essentially like having the three seperate amps and a LFE out has to go to each amp.
    These Bass Shaker things confused the hell out of me when i first go them
    I know there's a couple of good posts, you might want to do a search for "aura bass shakers' or something similar to that
    ------------------
    Bring Degrassi out on DVD!!
     
  8. tom_furman

    tom_furman Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok...if i cant find a friend with an old pro logic receiver i'll go the amp route.
    now if i do find an old receiver what input do i use? will any audio input work?
    also....i havent seen a bass shaker up close put it seems like they have RCA plugs....it seems most people say that you simply hook the shakers up as the left and right speakers on the receiver. now if you run speaker wire out of the receiver, how do you run that wire into the RCA plugs on the shaker? thanks alot for all your help...i feel like a moron! [​IMG]
    [Edited last by tom_furman on July 25, 2001 at 07:12 AM]
     

Share This Page