AVR 520 have pre-outs?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Allen Longcor, Jun 2, 2002.

  1. Allen Longcor

    Allen Longcor Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you hook up an amp to the AVR 520? For the features and the price this is looking MIGHTY tempting.
     
  2. Paul Clarke

    Paul Clarke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Allen,
    The 520 has 7.1 pre-outs but internal amping for 5 channels.
    I agree...it is a winner. [​IMG]
     
  3. Allen Longcor

    Allen Longcor Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, at that price I can't imagine passing that up. I could buy that in the beginning. Add a good amp later, then move to seperates after that. I can't believe the price on that for the features.
     
  4. Paul Clarke

    Paul Clarke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is a very popular receiver. Also know that the power from H/K is quite real, with excellent headroom and that the receivers will 'double down' or come very close to it depending on model/price class.

    I have the 510 and am currently buying a Parasound 855A off of Ubid but do not anticipate using it until next year when we move to larger digs. The 510's power is more than I could ever use where I am presently.

    Good Luck.
     
  5. Dean DeMass

    Dean DeMass Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Count me in as a very happy 520 owner. You will be very hard pressed to find a better receiver in the 520's price range.

    -Dean-
     
  6. Sheldon

    Sheldon Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well...I own the 510 and I must say it has ample power without adding additional amps,nice smooth clean sounding receiver.With that being said,I have 2 Rotel amps hooked into it and love it that much more.Allen,you should check out the H/K site for the specs or any other info you should need.
     
  7. Bob_Lawrance

    Bob_Lawrance Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Allen

    Yes, you can hook up an amp to all 5 channels and the 7.1.

    I have had mine for about four months now, and i love it, it sounds awesome.
     
  8. Lando P

    Lando P Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got my Rotel RMB-1066 last week and hooked it up to my HK AVR-510 to power the main and center speakers, and all I can say is that I wish I had done it sooner.

    I'm really impressed about having more headroom and greater soundstage even on the surrounds. Probably because much of the work load from the receiver's amp powering the fronts were directed to the surrounds. I tried it with my concert dvds and my wife - who isn't a home theater fan like me - commented that we were like in a concert hall. And all I was about to say was that we were like in a showroom of an audio/video store.

    What they say about hearing more things that you don't hear before with only your receiver is true. Then I tried a couple of movies like the Perfect Storm and Harry Potter for their DD-EX surround (I have an old Pro-logic decoder that I use for my rear center) and the speakers really came alive. Not only am I so happy, ever since I got the RMB-1066, I couldn't wait to get home even just to try out my old dvds - movies and concert alike.

    I might go for the separates with a pre/pro in the future but for now I'm very satisfied with my current set-up.
     
  9. Bob_Lawrance

    Bob_Lawrance Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Lando

    Did you say you watched harry potter in 6.1 with the avr 510, i thought that HK does not support DD ES.
     
  10. Lando P

    Lando P Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, HK doesn't support DD-EX. What I have is a homemade, pseudo DD-EX surround. It also works as DTS-Matrix when watching dvd's with DTS-ES surround format (like Gladiator).

    I have this old pro-logic decoder that I'm using for my rear center. I had the L/R surround preamp outs connected to the L/R input of my decoder, then the L/R output from the decoder back to amplifier input of the HK510 (See page 17 of the owner's manual). Then I put the decoder into 3-channel logic, connect the rear center speaker to center speaker output from the decoder and there it is - 6.1 DD-EX/DTS-Matrix.

    This should also work on old pro-logic receivers.
     
  11. Bob_Lawrance

    Bob_Lawrance Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lando P

    So Lando, I have a avr 520, can i do the same thing as you for DD ES, I have an old technics recevier can i use it to do DD ES.

    I know i can for DTS 6.1.

    Thanks
     
  12. Lando P

    Lando P Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your old receiver has pro-logic and audio outs then you can.

    1) HK520's SR/SL preamp output to your old receiver's main L/R audio input.
    2) Your receiver's main L/R audio output back to HK520's amplifier SR/SL input.
    3) Connect your rear center speaker to the Technic's center speaker output.
    4) Set your Technics receiver to 3-channel logic and match the rear center volume to your left/right surrounds and you're set to go.

    Remember this set-up is only for DD-EX (Matrix) and DTS-Matrix surround. DTS-ES is another kind which has a discrete rear center channel.
     
  13. StevenK

    StevenK Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Personally I think the lack of DD-EX is a huge knock for the 520. I had it for a while and even tried it with an old Pro-Logic receiver for the rears and it kinda sucked IMO. I now have a Pioneer 811S and even this crappy POS rocks with true DD-EX decoding. Of course I have the benefit of having a separate amp to power the fronts and center....so YMV.
     

Share This Page