need jumpers for hk avr 520???

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by RaphaelZ, Mar 21, 2005.

  1. RaphaelZ

    RaphaelZ Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    bought a hk avr 520 on ebay for a grat price used. Doesn't have ANY jumpers between preamp and main in. I don't get any sound from any of the speakers unless I plug a source into the main-in terminals, but then I get no volume control (but the speakers definitely work then). Do I have to have jumpers between the pre out, and main in for normal operations or is there something else wrong with the receiver? The manual talks about them once as if they're default. Where can I get some or how can I make cheap, but good DIY jumpers. I don't want to spend $40 for a set of two on the internet. Any advice would do.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Wayne Ernst

    Wayne Ernst Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Through the on-screen setup, can you map out the amps? I thought this was the beauty of the H/K 520 - the ability to map the amps. A jumper should only be required if you plan on utilizing another source to be amplified by the 520.
     
  3. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    From what you describe, you need the jumpers. My friend's used Marantz 9200 came without some of them too; I picked up a bunch of decent quality 6" RCAs at the local shop and dropped them in there. I got them from Cambridge Soundworks, but I don't see them listed on their website. You might be able to find some inexpensive 1/2 meter pairs or singles.
     
  4. RaphaelZ

    RaphaelZ Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys, problem solved. Called HK and they told me that the jumpers are essential. I made my own out of RCA plugs and 3" cuts of good 12 AWG copper wire. I soldered the wire onto the main terminal of the RCA plug and not onto the ground. Everything works and I'm happy. I've seen these type of jumpers going for $40/ pair. Wow, mine cost me about $10 for five of them.

    Cheers
     
  5. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    HK couldn’t sell you any replacement jumpers??
     
  6. RaphaelZ

    RaphaelZ Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope,

    They said that its not a stocked part. Oh well. Mine will do. I did notice however, that the inside of the pre/out and main in terminals is actually plastic and that there is a small wire inside that contacts any RCA or jumper installed. So it doesn't really matter if you use fancy gold-plated interconects here because most of the surface area of the RCA prong never touches anything but plastic. The outside (ground) is still metal. I don't know how other manufacturer's do it but it seems like mine are all plastic inside (in, out, video, coax, etc).
     
  7. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    The plastic is to keep you from accidentally shorting the connection when you insert the plug (even though it's only signal). AFAIK, all RCAs are this way.
     

Share This Page