What's new

Are Monster Video 3 Component Cables good enough? (1 Viewer)

Steve Iseman

Agent
I've asked questions about component cables before, but I'm new at this stuff and it's more confusing than I first thought. I spent a lot of money on my TV so I want to at least get the most I can out of it at a reasonable price.

I recently purchase the Monster Video 3 2M component cables for $75 and did not really notice any difference over $25 RCA brand component cables that I had hooked up earlier. Oh yeah, my TV is a Mitsubishi WS-65819 Platinum Series and I have a Samsung Progressive Scan DVD player. Could I get better quality by going with the Monster M-Series, Bettercables Silver Serpents, AR Master Series, AudioQuest YIQ1, or anything else in the price range of these cables?

I guess there might not be a definite answer as to which component cables are best, but I was hoping that I could reach a decision that I would be satisfied with if I got the help of some expert opinions on this site.

Thanks is advance,

Steve

Mike Matheson

Second Unit
Steve,

Have you calibrated your set with Aiva or Video Essentials? Played with the convergence, etc.?

I ask this simply because I've seen sets so out of whack (i.e., using factory defaults) that if there was a difference between cables it would not be seen on that set.

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
It's confusing in part because
a) virtually no one publishes specs nor does the consumer know what's required.
b) vendors give their cables very nice names and don't tell you what paying more gives you
c) the smarter vendors oem their cables so that you've no idea how much you've paid for stuff that costs pennies a foot.
d) review magazines don't want to say anything bad against their bread and butter advertising. the reviews rarely utilize any objective measurement and rely on flowery prose that doesn't mean squat. catch the reviewer on a bad day and watch it!