What's new

Any software for my laptop? (1 Viewer)

Real Name
Tony Novacek
This is a stupid question, but I'll ask anyway. Is there any type of software I can download off the internet onto my laptop and use a microphone to record my stereo to see how low the bass goes or how high, stuff like that? I'm just wondering. If so can you tell me where?

Thanks!

Tony

Mike Matheson

Second Unit
Hi Tony,
A number of us here at HTF us the ETF software (typically in conjunction with a Behringer Feedback Destroyer or BFD) for near-RTA type funtionality.
Here's a recent thread:
My BFD - ETF5 experience
You'll need a RS sound meter (your mike) as well as the ETF software.
Regards,
Mike

Real Name
Tony Novacek
Thanks for the response!

Okay, I am a little confused! First of all, i'm new to all of this so it's kind of hard to understand it all at ounce. So here's what I did.... I read the thread and all the links given (which is what made me confused a bit), then I downloaded the software and installed it. Next I downloaded the "Test CD". The test cd is another thing that confused me. I burned it and there are only 2 tracks. The first track has that static sound for about 8 min and the second track is blank for about 8 min. Is that correct? Now, do I have to go and buy all that equipment that they mention in the thread and links (BFD, Y adapters, Male/Female cables, etc)? Or can I just use the software and my laptop mic? Do I have to get a sound meter or can i just use the built in mic on my laptop?

Thanks for any more help!

Note: I have none of the equipment mentioned in that thread.

Mike Matheson

Second Unit
Hi Tony,

You might try posting a thread asking your Q's in the Speakers forum--you'll probably get more response there regarding ETF than here in the HT Basics forum.