What's new

antenna question (1 Viewer)

benjaminBen

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
May 14, 2005
Messages
73
I bought a 60" sony xbr2 and i know that it has a HD tuner. I hooked up an antenna to it, but i didn't get HD.
Do i need a HD antenna or something special like that?
What is the best brand to buy?
Would you recommend outdoor or indoor?
anything else i should be aware of?

Thanks for the help.....
 

benjaminBen

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
May 14, 2005
Messages
73
oh yeah here is my antenna results
DTV Antenna
Type Call Sign Channel Network City State Live
Date Compass
Orientation Miles
From Frequency
Assignment
* yellow - uhf KFOR-DT 4.1 NBC OKLAHOMA CITY OK 131° 2.2 27
* yellow - uhf KAUT-DT 40.1 MNT OKLAHOMA CITY OK 135° 2.8 40
* yellow - uhf KWTV-DT 9.1 CBS OKLAHOMA CITY OK 131° 2.2 39
* yellow - uhf KOPX-DT 62.1 i OKLAHOMA CITY OK 131° 2.2 50
* yellow - uhf KSBI-DT 52.1 IND OKLAHOMA CITY OK 131° 2.2 51
* yellow - uhf KOCB-DT 34.1 CW OKLAHOMA CITY OK 152° 4.5 33
* yellow - vhf KOCO-DT 5.1 ABC OKLAHOMA CITY OK 155° 4.2 7
* yellow - uhf KOKH-DT 25.1 FOX OKLAHOMA CITY OK 157° 5.2 24
* yellow - uhf KETA-DT 13.1 PBS OKLAHOMA CITY OK 131° 2.2 32
* red - uhf KTBO-DT 14.1 TBN OKLAHOMA CITY OK 146° 3.5 15
 

Philip Hamm

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jan 23, 1999
Messages
6,874
What kind of antenna have you tried? Where is it in your house? Try hooking the antenna to a regular TV set and see if you can get UHF channels, that's a good test to see if you will get HDTV channels.

I have a Channel Master 4221A in my attic and it kicks butt!

Yellow means you should be able to use a simple set-top antenna I think.
 

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2000
Messages
8,350
Location
Mississippi
Real Name
Robert
The Radio Shack Double Bow Tie should work for everything except ABC. It is broadcast on VHF. If the Shack has a UHF/VHF combo antenna, it should work. You are under 5 miles from the towers so almost any antenna should work. Just don't buy one based on it being HDTV. That's just marketing to raise the price.

-Robert
 

benjaminBen

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
May 14, 2005
Messages
73
ok thanks for the help i was looking at a terk indoor antenna and i noticed that alot of people didn't like it and i was wondering why, it is only 40 dollars.

Also my friend gave me his antenna and i hooked it up and i didn't get any HD. would it be on the regular channels (4,5,9 etc..) or is it somewhere else....also is there anything special that i need to do or just hook it up and it should work???
 

Philip Hamm

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jan 23, 1999
Messages
6,874
Hook it up and there should be a "scan" mode on your TV. HDTV channels are not the same as the channel number. Antennaweb has this information.
 

DougR

Second Unit
Joined
Jun 15, 1999
Messages
354
As suggested above........go into the Menu and do a "Scan for Digital Channels" .
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
347,135
Messages
4,803,527
Members
142,004
Latest member
ArtAD
Top