What's new

a question about illogical ebay bids (1 Viewer)

andrew markworthy

Senior HTF Member
A few times I've put in bids on ebay on items where I know that I can buy them from another etailer for a particular set price. I thus, sensibly enough, I think, have fixed my maximum bid at around that particular price (why bid more when you know you can buy it for less?). I've then watched, slack-jawed with amazement, as idiots have bidded way over that set price, and have ended up paying twice or more what the item is worth.

I'm new to ebay, but I guess this happens all the time. Why do people do it? Don't they check the market value of items before bidding? I should stress that I'm talking here about items which are readily available (books, CDs, etc) where a few seconds search on a search engine would tell you how much etailers are charging for the same items.

BrianB

Senior HTF Member
They don't check the market value. They believe listings of it being RARE! They get caught up in the frenzy of bidding, forgetting to place limits on what they spend to ensure they get a fair deal.

Kids sometimes pay over the odds for items on ebay because they can easily pay by money order etc instead of having to pay by credit card with online retailers.

There's also the overriding reason for a lot of things: there's a lot of dumb people in the world.

Ashley Seymour

Supporting Actor
Perhaps that is why the comment you often read "serious bidders only." or This is relisted because previous bidder bailed, etc.

andrew markworthy

Senior HTF Member
Of course what these jackasses are doing is pushing up prices for all of us. In their rush to buy without checking the correct values they're guaranteeing that *everybody* (including themselves, of course)pays more than they should because the total effect is to inflate costs.

Marvin

Screenwriter
Real Name
Marvin