What's new

A beginners question about speaker suitability for HC (1 Viewer)

Andy Z

Auditioning
Hello everyone,
I'm just getting into home cinema and had a few questions about speakers for a home system.
Currently for my hi fi setup i have:
Cambridge Audio A1 MkIII amp
JBL Control 1G monitors
Arcam Alpha 7SE CD player
And for the entertainment side i have:
Pioneer DV350 DVD player
29" Sony Wega FD Trinitron 4:3 TV
XBox and Gamecube
Currently the consoles and DVD player just go into the amp through the TV so everything is in stereo. Now my CA amp is broken and i was looking for a replacement and decided to just get a DD receiver instead. I was looking at the Yamaha HTiB45 (HTR5540RDS and NSP220 speakers) but think i might just get the receiver on its own and buy seperate speakers. I had a few questions about this:
1) Would the JBL Control 1Gs be suitable in a home theatre system, and if so would they be better as fronts or backs?
2) The receiver is £210 and the HTiB45 kit is £320, is it worth bothering getting seperate speakers or should i just get the HTi kit? (i know people aren't fond of them, but its a starting system :) )
3) Presuming the JBLs are ok for either the fronts or rears, are there any recommendations for a centre, sub and either fronts or rears depending on what the JBLs get used for?
One last thing, i have an 8" Sony sub from an old system, it's rated at 60w at 6ohm. Could that be usable?
Thanks for any help :)

SteveMo

Stunt Coordinator
Hello, :)
I found this for the JBL 1 but noting about the other one.
Technical data
Biwirable: No
Caskets: Stamped
Directionality: Monopole
Enclosure materials: High-impact molded plastic
Finish: Black plastic
Down-firing: N/A
In the box: JBL Control 1x 2-Way Bookshelf Speakers (2), user's manual, warranty information
Number of speakers: 2
Powered: No
Removable speaker grilles: Yes
Speaker drivers: 2
Speaker enclosure type: Ported (front panel)
Speaker terminals: Clip-type
Speaker type: Bookshelf