What's new

10x12' room no windows $5,000 budget (1 Viewer)

LeonDES

Grip
Hi All,

I am new to the scene and looking for tips and information
on building my first home theater.

My plans are to setup in a room in my house that has no windows. The room is approximately 10feet wide x 12feet long. I am a bit confused on the best viewing distance or "throw range" for a projector in a room of this size.
It will only be one row of seats and they will be against the back wall.

I am working with a $5,000 usd budget. Can you guys give me some opinions on your screen/projector 16:9 picks for this cost. Do not worry about sound as I already have speakers here.

Thanks in advance,

Leon

Glenise

Supporting Actor
Go to www.projectorcentral.com to check on projectors.

I'd probably get a Dalite and a NEC, Infocus or some other popular projector.
You could always get your own screen made using sheetrock or some other material.

LeonDES

Grip
Thanks for the info Glen. I will check out that website and see what they got for my budget any idea on screen size with that size of room and only 1 row of seats against the back wall.

Leon

Neil Joseph

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Neil Joseph
Something like the Panasonic 700 (1280x720 pixels) with a 92" 16x9 screen, purchased or made, would do the trick for that size of room. Then again, I view from about 12' in my room which is 15' long with a 96" screen. I see no screendoor from 8' with the screen I have.

LeonDES

Grip
I checked out that panasonic on projectorcentral
and found the throw distance at 11feet to have a diagonal screen size of 55". This seems a bit small to me as I am wanting somthing more like 83"+ diagonal screen size if not a little more.

Did I calculate that correctly ?

Forgive me if I am wrong with my calculations as I am learning here.

Thanks,

Leon

Michael Whitney

Stunt Coordinator