What's new

Presence Speakers (1 Viewer)

dwink

Auditioning
Real Name
Dan
Hello all!

I am just beginning to setup my home theater room. I will attach some pictures of the space, but it will be a dual purpose theater/TV/Gaming room.

I purchased a Yamaha Aventage receiver (I know some are not big Yamaha fans, but I have been running the same Yamaha on various other setups for 10 years flawlessly- so I like them) and a SVS PB-10 Sub as my old crappy AR box finally died in our recent move.

The room is 20x20 semi-loft with a 15x30 balcony off the back.

I have some reasonably nice Polk Euro 10 floor standing speakers, a good Polk Center, and bi/di-pole Polk surrounds (all with matched tweets)

A couple of questions

1) Most important question- My Yamaha supports front Presence speakers, and I will be adding back speakers to move from 5.1 to 7.1. I am already pushing the WAF (Wife Acceptance Factor) with all the floor speakers and sub, so I need to go ceiling mount for the rears and presence speakers if possible. Are the front presence speakers critical or worthwhile, and if so, do I need to spend a bunch of money on them or should any decent ceiling speaker work? I know the back speakers are worthwhile, but same question here- how important is the quality?

2) I will post some pictures, but any thoughts on how to make this more of a "Theater" feel without totally transforming it into a single purpose theater room?

Thanks in advance for any ideas and your expertise!!!

Adam Gregorich

What to watch tonight?
Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Adam