Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Speaker selectors?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 RobCar

RobCar

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 201 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 27 2002

Posted March 07 2005 - 01:28 PM

Hi. I'm interested in having audio in a few rooms, but am wondering about the best approach.

I currently have 5.1 in the living room running from my Yamaha RX-V2300. Should I simply run another pair of speakers off of the B terminals and a final pair off of Zone 2? Or should I get a speaker selector?

If I go the speaker selector route, how exactly do those work? Do I connect the speaker connector from the B speakers? Are these bad for the receiver or speakers at all?

Thanks!

#2 of 6 Rokzi

Rokzi

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 75 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 11 2002

Posted March 07 2005 - 02:46 PM

Looks like you have 3 locations that you want to put speakers in. If you only need 2 sets then use the Zone 2 feature of your Yammie. Normally you shouldn't run two pairs of speaker off one pair of terminals. It might overload your receiver.

If you need to have 3 locations then you're better off getting a speaker selector. Monster cable has a good one that lets you switch between up to four speakers. It can also let you run two pairs of speakers simulteneously with circuit overload protection.

#3 of 6 RobCar

RobCar

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 201 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 27 2002

Posted March 08 2005 - 11:51 AM

But for three locations, can't I run:

1 pair off the A terminals
1 pair off the B terminals
1 pair off zone 2?

Or is it simply better to go with a speaker selector?

#4 of 6 Rokzi

Rokzi

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 75 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 11 2002

Posted March 08 2005 - 07:56 PM

when you say A or B, does it mean that your receiver has an A/B speaker switch? if so, then you don't need a speaker selector.

have you tried the A/B feature yet if you can turn both pairs on at the same time? I think most receivers that have that feature do.

#5 of 6 RobCar

RobCar

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 201 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 27 2002

Posted March 09 2005 - 07:46 AM

A and B both work at the same time. I believe "zone 2" would also work at the same time, in theory providing tunes to three rooms. But correct me if I'm wrong (I have a Yamaha RX-V2300).

#6 of 6 Rokzi

Rokzi

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 75 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 11 2002

Posted March 09 2005 - 10:11 AM

Does your manual say anything about having them both pairs (A+B)on with some reference to the impendance of the speakers connected to them? That's the only other concern that you should check out. Assuming you won't have an issue with that,
I believe then that you should be fine then!!!!
Just use your A/B and Zone 2!

Have fun!