Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Random Sub noise


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   ColinW

ColinW

    Agent



  • 43 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 13 2001

Posted January 26 2004 - 12:35 PM

I have a Polk PS250 powered sub which has suited my needs just fine for my small theatre. Recently the sub started randomly producing noise, sometimes during movie playback and sometimes when the system is just quiet. It is just short bursts of noise and I am not sure what is causing it. I tried rewiring, and when I run the sub audio tests in Avia it seems to respond correctly, however when I ran the regular THX optimizer tests it didn't respond at all during the speaker tests. If someone has ever had the same problem please let me know. I would love to know what the problem is. Maybe it is something terribly wrong and I can upgrade to an SVS!! Colin

#2 of 8 OFFLINE   Ron Sc

Ron Sc

    Agent



  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 17 2004

Posted January 27 2004 - 07:24 AM

I had the same problem with my polk sub. Bottom line get rid of the Polk sub. If you want to see the post I started on the subject you can click Search "loud pop" by "Ron Sc" I can't do a link not enough posts yet

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   JohnGil

JohnGil

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 65 posts
  • Join Date: May 14 2003

Posted January 27 2004 - 07:56 AM

I once had a Klipsch SW-12II that would pick up noise caused by the electrical outlet and it would rumble periodically for no apparent reason. I bought a AC noise filter from Radio Shack and the problem was fixed. If you like your sub go pick one up. I think it was like $15 a cheap fix, unless your looking for a reason to get a better sub Posted Image. I sold the Klipsch eventually and got a M&K MV-125 which was a great sub but for less money, I was able to get a SVS 20-39PC+ and I'm glad I did. The SVS is just as tight as the M&K but plays allot lower and allot louder and does so with authority. So like I said if your looking for a reason to get a new sub here is your opportunity.

#4 of 8 OFFLINE   ColinW

ColinW

    Agent



  • 43 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 13 2001

Posted January 28 2004 - 10:55 AM

I would love to have an excuse to get an SVS, but I really don't need anything that fantastic in my meager theatre. If anything I would upgrade my mains and surrounds first. I have been happy enough with the Polk sub in my setup and if it worked well until recently. The explanation of the power causing the occasional rumbles makes sense I guess. I will try the Radio Shack fix to see if it works. I have had it plugged into the same outlet for a couple of months now with no problems. Any idea why it would start just a few day ago with the random rumbling? RonSC - did you try an AC noice filter or just get rid of the sub altogether? I appreciate any and all help. People here are always very helpful and full of assistance. Colin

#5 of 8 OFFLINE   Erik.Ha

Erik.Ha

    Supporting Actor



  • 697 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 24 2003

Posted January 28 2004 - 11:20 AM

I had the same problem... it was solved by replacing the line in cable with a better shielded (is that a word???) one.
"I'm not an actor, but I play one on TV..."

#6 of 8 OFFLINE   ColinW

ColinW

    Agent



  • 43 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 13 2001

Posted January 29 2004 - 04:25 AM

I picked up a better Y cable, and I will try that on the linelevel inputs on the sub. Hopefully that will do the trick. I asked About An AC noise filter and the Radio Shack employee looked at me as though I had three heads. Where should I be looking to find something like that? Colin

#7 of 8 OFFLINE   JohnGil

JohnGil

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 65 posts
  • Join Date: May 14 2003

Posted January 29 2004 - 04:57 AM

Well, Ive found most of the people that work at the Ratshack dont know whats in there store. Any how the unit has a heavy 6' 3 prong power cord and a small black box on one end with a single 3 prong outlet on it. It say's Radio Shack right on it. I'll look at it tonight and get the part number for you.

#8 of 8 OFFLINE   ColinW

ColinW

    Agent



  • 43 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 13 2001

Posted January 29 2004 - 05:38 AM

Thanks John. I have had similar dealings with those at Radio Shack. I looked around, but didn't see anything similar to what you describe. A part number may be very useful. Colin




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users